We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay, delightful staff & service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Banff
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very pleasant stay, delightful staff & service”
Reviewed May 3, 2006

We came to Banff for a ski vacation, and booked a room with a balcony for ten days. At check in the staff was friendly and shared lots of maps and information for the town and national park. We also arrived in Banff during the "situation" in which the whole town was under a "boil water" alert. BML was one of the few hotels that provided bottled water to their guests, at no charge.

Upon arriving in the room, we were pleased to see a fair sized room for two people, with enough storage so that we could unpack, and not live out of the suitcases for the week. The two beds had two down pillows each, and a down comforter. Very nice, and very warm. We also noticed a card on top of the fireplace mantle, which advised to open the flue vent in order to make a fire. While we could occasionally hear some traffic on the wooden staircase that led up to our 2nd floor room, it was not half as annoying as the smoke alarms from the people who couldn't be bothered to read the card and open the vent. While we absolutely loved the fireplace, we couldn't rely on the housekeeping's fire-building skills, and would definately reccomend to others that the free weeklies about town make excellent use as kindling.

We also used the high speed internet service in the room, but had to call the front desk every other day or so to get it restarted. There was some sort of "power surge" (even reported on TV), that blew out their networking equipment, but they had it fixed the next day. Apparently to make up for the trouble, we found out at checkout that they only charged us for one day, instead of the whole week that we used it.

About the room, we loved to go out on the balcony in the morning and evenings. Our room was facing a "courtyard" of sorts, which was a sloped area with pine trees surrounded by other units. Even though the units were pretty close together, there was a sense of privacy and isolation.

The only two concerns were the ski lockers, and parking. The ski lockers were an open room with ski stands, and you provide the lock. Other places we've been actually provided individual lockers and personal locks, so we were surprised at what was there. There were no skis in the room any time we checked it, and we felt uncomfortable being the only ones to use it, so we kept the skis in our room, or the car. Yes, we rented a car in Calgary and drove to Banff, and found it to be a great decision which helped us enjoy Banff at our pace and timetable. Although, one night, in the middle of our vacation, we returned to the lodge to find not one single parking space. We stopped at the front desk to ask what we could do, and they said we could park in their handicapped spot (!) and they promised not to tow us. We were unhappy about not being able to find parking, but they resolved the situation for us, and if unconventional, it was only temporary.

We did not eat at the restaurant, except for breakfast on the last day. It was priced comparably to other places in town (~$15/person), but was _very_ classy and nice. We thought dinner was higher priced than we wanted to spend every night, but found it was consistent with other wild game restaurants in town (fuse, maple leaf, ~$60/person).

Overall, we're very happy we picked BML, and when we return to Banff, will choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    450
    240
    117
    63
See reviews for
321
763
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2006

It seemed such a great idea to stay in an hotel where the rooms have wood fires in each room, but the combined effect is pungent in the extreme. Maybe it was just that there wasn't much wind on the day we arrived but it was very smoky indeed. The staff set up your fire ready to light every day, so off I went & lit it to get smoked out & set off the fire alarms! It seems the in room literature would benefit from explaining that you need to open the vent before lighting the fire. The staff are very used to this occuring - up to 6 times a day it seems. (Management take note!)
The rooms are very nice & roomy but ours was right next to a wooden staircase & folk in normal boots made a giant racket on them, let alone those in ski boots. This was absolutely infuriating.
On checking in, we were told our room had a great view. It probably would have if we had felled the giant pine which dominated the vista & knocked down the hotel sign which not only blocked the view, but illuminated our entire room throughout the night too.
The restaurants were both so expensive we didn't even consider eating there. It's not even reasonable compared to the giant machine of tourism that sucks tourists dry (AKA Banff) so we were rather riled that the resort sees fit to rip off its guests.($16 for a basic pizza - I think not).
I think this hotel suffered in our estimations as we had driven from Vancouver & stayed in wonderful, peaceful accommodations en route; the combination of the sudden onslaught of people & noise that is Banff combined with this overly slick resort didn't impress us. A shame, as had we come to BML first, we would no doubt have liked it so much more.
I wouldn't say its awful, but it didn't stand out. When I go on holiday, I want to be treated as a person, not like a gormless idiot & I certainly don't want to feel ripped off. Unfortunately I did here.

Helpful?
5 Thank TheNoble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2006

is if you don't remember to open your vent you will smoke your room out!

This place is absolutely fantastic. The staff are so helpful and friendly and willing to offer lots of advice on trips and activities around Banff.

If you get the chance, go snow mobiling as this will give you a true insight into what the Rockies are really like. (£130 for 2 people sharing a mobile.)

After returning back to the lodage around 6pm, get your fire lit and have gin and tonics in front of it!!

We loved it so much we hope to return next year to complete all the activities we never managed to complete.

Reccommended the breakfast (£7 per person), Banff Avenue is a 20 minute walk downhill (we reccommend getting the bus back $2pp or a taxi $5-$6 or $10 if my husband is paying!!)have pre-dinner drinks in the bar as it's a lovely atmosphere in here especially if the fire is going.

If you don't like this, I don't know what you would like!!

Kirsty & Andy (UK)

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pete1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2006

Stayed at this hotel for an all girls wedding planning weekend as my fiance and I are getting married here next winter and we wanted to check things out. We were truly delighted at the service, warmth and overall ambiance of the Buffalo Mountain Lodge. Rooms were cozy and comfy, with every amenity you could possibly need or crave. Loved the fireplaces (all ready to go - you just need to light a match!). We stayed in a deluxe room (lowest category) and it was wonderful, but we did see all the rooms and there isn't an undesirable one among them. The bathrooms in the premier rooms are stunning with heated floors and romantic clawfoot tubs. Food was delicious and worth every penny. An absolutely ideal getaway. Much more romantic, private and relaxing than the Banff Springs or Rimrock. You won't have any regrets staying here!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anonymous23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2006

Stayed at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge from the 4th to 15th February in one of their Premier rooms.
You get exactly what it says and much more!!

The rooms,staff and facilities are excellent and it is extremely difficult to find fault with anything.
We arrived back home on the 16th and have already booked to go back next year.The decision to do this was simple!!

If you want great accomodation, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff plus excellent facilities then look no further.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Beachbumsalso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2006

My just married wife and I stayed at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge while in Banff for four days. We couldn't have hoped for more. We didn't want to stay on the main strip in Banff. We really wanted to try and experience the Rockies as much as possible while we were there.

The Lodge is snuggled away from the hustle and noise of Banff centre but not too far. A 15 minute walk or 2 minute drive and your in the heart of it.

Our room was amazing with our own fireplace. They kept a steady supply of logs coming outside so you could keep your fire going for hours. The bed was very comfortable and our view into the woods from the deck was stunning.

The main restaurant they have is incredibly nice. A little expensive so I would only recommend going there for maybe one or two dinners. We ate there once and decided to splurge. We dropped $200 but the meal was great! We have never received better service from any eating establishment then we did there.

Overall, I would highly recommend. I know we'll go back the next time we're in Banff!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snowman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2006

My fiance (now husband) and I stayed here as we were marrying in Banff. There were ten of us in all and the hotel accommodated us in adjoining rooms.
All rooms are like wooden chalets with two huge beds, a lovely bathroom and a log fire (they come and light it for you on request!). The rooms were well furnished and very clean. The reception/bar is small but very cosy (log fires and buffalo heads etc)and traditional in style, but again very nice. The restaurant in the main building is quite expensive but the food is good (especially the breakfasts). The other restaurant (cant remember the name) is excellent and prices are very reasonable. The location is about ten minutes walk from downtown, but taxis are cheap and plentiful. We really loved this hotel and much prefer it to the big impersonal chain hotels downtown. I would return here year after year and definately give it my recommendation (and Im a fussy guest)!!! Oh, and the open-air jacuzzi is a must,just magical......

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarneyBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,106 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Property: Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing