We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Buffalo Mountain Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed August 23, 2005

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinky77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,445 - 1,451 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2005

9  Thank Cheesehead7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bristol, TN
1
Reviewed August 11, 2005

My husband and I were looking forward to a nice room. It was nice, but it was a hot week in the mountains and there was no ceiting fan, no table fan, no cross ventilation and only one tiny window that cranked out. When we found it was going to be a week of hot nights, Mon-Thurs, the price seemed too much for the comfort we expected and didn't receive.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2005

Buffalo Mountain Lodge lives up to all the positive comments in previous reviews. Mark at the desk was great and was able to rearrange rooms
to suit everyone in our large party. We ate at the hotel restaurant as well
as Cilantro's and would highly reccomend both the food and the service.

We had premier rooms which were exceptional. None of our party mentioned the firm beds, but did notice BML does not use the feather bed toppers we had enjoyed at Deer Lodge. We also discovered that the second floor Premier Rooms have vaulted ceilings giving those rooms a more spacious elegant ambiance, so be sure to request second floor/premier room when booking. For full enjoyment of the hottub,
and Banff in general, be sure to bring insect repellent as mosquitos can
be a bother.

We went into town several times and always found nearby parking.
In Banff we had a fabulous breakfast at Coyote's. Be sure to try the pancakes which are the best ever. (How do they make them crispy on
the outside?)

We went to Ticino's to have fondue which was great. Some of our party opted out of fondue, and enjoyed several unusual and delicious entrees. The owner/manager was very attentive as was our waitress. We were celebrating a special occasion and were presented with a delicious Swiss Cheescake, a personal message was written in chocolate on the plate,and it was topped off with flaming sparklers!

PS Highly recommend Discover Banff Tours. Ask for Freddy as your
guide. You will have a great day :)

Stayed: July 2005
7  Thank arly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2005

We stayed at the premium room with our 2 daughters and the room was large eough and comfortable. The toilet is large with a claw foot bath. The restaurant was good and the price was comparable to good restaurants in Banff town. We like the outdoor hot tub after our hikes. There are good trails nearby. Will definitely return. The rooms are more spacious than the Emerald Lake Lodge but there is not much view from the room.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2005

Hotel rooms were delightful, not your ordinary cookie cutter here. A porch and fireplace in the room add to the charm of high wooded beamed ceilings. The fireplace was carefully cleaned and new wood added each day.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The deer in the parking lot were quite a nice added touch. The only negative was the bed was very hard and not what you would expect at this very nice facility. I would hasten to add that I would stay here again. The restaurant was very nice as well.

4  Thank SailormanAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2005

Me and my new wife have just returned from 2 weeks in Banff where we got married and we stayed at BML. My wife lost her purse on the journey over which we realised at check in. The staff at BML were really helpful and started ringing around at the airport for us. They also got us checked into our room without having any credit card details for security. We eventually got things sorted and then realised what a fantastic room we had booked. It was a Superior room (1108in the new section)with a log fire,tv and video (free rentals too), a balcony overlooking the mountains and lots of room. Everything about BML was fantastic from the staff to the setting to the accomodation. You should definately pay the extra for the better rooms as it's well worth it. BML is a little bit out of the town but you can easily walk in 10-15 mins and taxis were only costing $5 too. The other hotels we saw in the brochure looked really nice (e.g royal canadian) but whilst walking around we realised these hotels are right on the main road. We both agreed we had made the right choice. The day of our wedding the hotel even arranged for our champagne to be chilled and left in the room just before we came back. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was so friendly. Not just in the hotel but everyone in Banff. The Banff Springs is a popular hotel because it's the celebrities choice but it's very big which loses it some charm.if you want a relaxed atmosphere and rustic surroundings then you wont go wrong with BML. We are going to book the same room for the same time next year.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 34 in Banff
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,007 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $107 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing