We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Banff Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Myself and partner have travelled all over the world and loved this lodge and will definitely return. We booked with skibig3.com where we got discounted room rates and discounted ski passes saving a few hundred dollars. We stayed at this lodge 15th-19th December 2008 and had a great time. We were in a premier king towards the back of the property and had a good view of mountains with a nice balcony. Despite the temperature being -30 the rooms were very cosy and the fireplace enhanced the romantic setting. It was good fun building a fire and relaxing infront of with wine or hot chocolate. Bed was comfortable, room clean, bath ideal after a days ski and the room was large with ample space for clothes. There is an outdoor hottub which we used but only the once as getting out and walking downstairs to the changing room was freezing!! We found the lodge was just the right amount of distance from Banff so you have all the facilities but not all the hustle and bustle. Our room was very quiet with nothing but mountains behind us although I think there was a road which was closed for winter but I can't imagine in the summer it would be busy. The restaurant is a little pricey so we only had breakfast there which was good athough slow so ensure you give yourself plenty of time if being collected for a trip/ski bus. Ski bus right outside hotel so no hassle. We did have a car which we found handy in winter to drive in to town. We travel the same week every year and find it difficult to ensure an ideal snow setting in Europe but now we know there is so much snow in Banff at this time of year we will continue to go there.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatalieandJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,315 - 1,321 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2009

We stayed in a king suite. While the size of the unit was nice be aware that there is no balcony or patio. The website was misleading as it said all rooms had a balcony or patio. I guess since it was a "suite" that's were the confusion was. It was rather noisy even though we were on the second floor, which I requested after reading other reviews. As far as distance from town, it would be quite a hike to get downtown. The Cilantro restaurant was very nice and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CassieAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed at Buffalo Mountain lodge for three nights. We stayed there because their website said they were on the quiet side of Banff. This was totally incorrect. We stayed in a suite that was directly on the business road that leads out of Banff (Tunnel Mtn Drive). It was loud and noisy from 4:30am until 11:00 pm. The hotel parked their staff car in front of the suites and whenever it or their diesel fueled golf cart started or drove by it made so much noise we had to close the windows. One morning the cleaning crew assembled in front of our suite to map out their day and it sounded like they were having a coffee party for close to an hour. When we asked the front desk about this they said there was nothing they could do. By the way the front desk staff knows nothing. When asked how far Calgary Airport was I got the answer of “I don’t know” and “At least 200 miles from here”. Both incorrect and unacceptable out of a lodge. If you want the quieter side of Banff try Sulphur Mountain.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foley90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Stayed for a week in a premier room. While it was adequate, it's certainly nothing exceptional. The room is small, with room for a bed and two chairs, but nothing else. In addition, it is quite dark, even with all lights on. The mattress was soft -too soft for my liking. The bathroom was large, but sparse. The soaking claw-foot tub was a welcome addition after a day of hiking. The staff kept the room clean, and there was no problem with noise (an issue we have had when staying in the standard rooms).It has a nice fireplace - not really needed in summer.

The location is perfect - a short (uphill from the town center) walk. It feels rustic and suited for being in the mountains. Just don't expect the Ritz! We enjoyed a lovely al fresco pizza at Cilantro's on the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigBree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed at BML as part of our anniversary trip to Banff & Jasper. We were generally quite pleased.

The room was priced fairly for June (no great deals, but not peak season pricing, either). High marks for the service...everyone from front desk to restaurant staff was very courteous & took a little extra time with us to chit chat and get to know us a bit.

Both restaurants served excellent food. Creative menus, beautifully presented. Not bargain basement priced, but fair.

My only criticism would be the room itself. It was dark, and very difficult to control the heat. Ventilation is non-existent unless you opened both your balcony & entrance doors wide open, which we had to do at 3 am a couple times. The hotel did provide a fan upon our request, which helped a lot.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank c7alt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Pros--nice location just outside of the downtown area, Premier upstairs room has a good view from the balcony, fireplace, bathrobe provided, wonderful bath products, firm bed.
Cons--very dark room even on a sunny day, room walls a bit beat up, pedestal sink in a large bath so no counter space for make-up/tiletries, very slow service at breakfast, no offer of help with bags(and theres no elevator).

Not bad,just not very good---for over $300 per night.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amcbeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Very cosy and romantic location. Clean room with very good and friendly service. A few minutes drive from town centre. The log fire was a necessity at night due to the cool temperature. This also added to the romantic setting. The bathroom was spacious and well stocked with toiletries.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_Canada_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,163 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
995 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $111 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing