We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The rooms are basic, but clean, precisely what you need when you re visiting Banff for a hike
The lodge offere exquisite breakfast and dinner for a correct price
staff is super friendly,
True Banff antmosphere
To bad that you have to drive up and do! the mountain each time you want to go to the centre of baff

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank patrick2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,492)
There are newer reviews for Buffalo Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for several days of our honeymoon and it was beautiful! We stayed in one of the premier rooms, which was lovely with wood beams, a stone fireplace, a balcony with a mountain view and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was gigantic and pretty updated. Never heard a peep through the walls from the neighbouring rooms and everything was very peaceful. The service was also excellent! When I booked the room months ago I made a note that we were coming on our honeymoon...within minutes of arriving in our room someone came with a plate of delicious cheeses and fruit. We also had one of the best breakfasts we have ever eaten in the restaurant, also with great service.

The location is great if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of downtown - its just a three minute drive into town and we never failed to find a parking spot in one of the public parking lots. We found it nice to have a little more of that "remote", natural feeling. Overall, our stay was fantastic and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We attended a wedding here and stayed overnight. Overall the wedding experience was quite nice. Service was excellent. Rooms were quite nice and somewhat rustic however bathrooms could use a update. Due to all the structures being of wood construction the soundproofing was not that great however we were there for a wedding so did not really notice the room noise levels.
Breakfast was in an area that when you consider the number of rooms and the relative isolation of the hotel could have been a lot bigger but the staff did a very good job of accommodating the rush. The buffet was quite expensive for what was on offer.
Overall the experience was quite good but expensive however it is Banff during the high season. if you are hoping to enjoy all of what the town of Banff offers pick a hotel a bit closer to the centre of town as this location is quite a walk into town especially on the return climb up the stairs.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are not quite as nice as those on the upper floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

About 1km out of town but worth the trip. A very pleasant welcome and free upgrade to a nicer cabin with Balcony & huge bathroom ! Amazed to see a real fireplace in the room - would be great if not 31 degrees outside! View to mountains. Bed was very comfortable albeit kapok pillows way too soft (should have at least 1 normal one). Complimentary Wi-Fi, hot tub, etc. Dining staff very friendly and brekkie was great (and reasonably priced). Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: Hold out for the newer cabins
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOug57_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. Great to hear you received a free upgrade and that you enjoyed your room. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this lodge and had a large, wonderful room with king size bed that was very comfy. A claw foot bath tub was spacious and great for an evening soak. The shower and bathroom was also spacious with all the essentials you need, except the lighting could have been better above the mirror.

The restaurant and staff was excellent, with a great breakfast buffet for $20, or you could order off the menu. The salads and meals in the evening were delicious, if not pricey. The parking and trees around the rooms made for a wonderful atmosphere in the mountains, with elk walking right past our patio and mountain views spectacular!! There was no AC, but none needed since the warm day cooled to high 50's every night and there were robes and a fan supplied in each room. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Banff.

Room Tip: Choose an outer room that faces the mountains. Also, there are fans but no AC and that worked out f...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wishedforchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Buffalo Lodge in Banff Alberta gives the rustic country feel to a beautiful mountain view. The rooms are very well laid out with a country fireplace , claw foot tub and even a balcony looking at the Rookies.
The rates are predictable for the area , a little steep but perfect for a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room over looking the mountains.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cherylann1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding. Very lovely stay. Staff are friendly and attentive. The rooms were clean and the king room was very spacious. Although a bit dated, it has a lodge feeling rather than a resort feel. The food on site was delicious - you don't even need to go into Banff to eat if you don't want to (especially since the lodge is a bit tucked away from the town site). I'd def stay here again.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are hotter than bottom floor, but top floors are more quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank esg772016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your room and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.6 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
966 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $114 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing