We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice quiet hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Banff
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice quiet hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

A vey nice hotel with good sized rooms although the oversize fireside chairs do tend to shut the available space down

Very clean and comfortable and staff were efficient and pleasant. Only drawbacks were that if you are on anything other the the ground floor lodge you have to lug your bags up a number of flights of stairs - the reception offered to send someone over to help if required but this should really be done automatically. The other main problem was that the rooms were very dark and better lighting would have been useful.

Restaurant prices were, as seems to be the case in most Canadian Hotels, very expensive

Overall a good place to stay and we would revisit - but perhaps asking for a ground floor lodge!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpgaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    355
    187
    91
    46
See reviews for
245
598
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I would rate this hotel as slightly above average. The bed was comfortable and the location was good. It was nice to be out of the center of Banff, but within walking distance (it is not a short walk though.) The room could have used some updating and a really good cleaning. The fireplace smell was overwhelming when we first arrived but was tolerable after we opened the window and let the room air out. There is no air conditioning and while it did cool off in the evening it was very stuffy in the room until the temperature dropped. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsehj4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel itself was very nice, We had a single queen room on the upper floor, it was super clean, Very comfortable bed, Beautiful stone and wood beam construction, with wood burning fireplace, 4 piece bathroom with claw-foot tub, again a very nice room,

The lobby and staff were very nice and accommodating,

It is a short walk down the hill to main street, We took a few taxi's ($7-8 for a trip to downtown) but it could be walked easily,

I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

As others have said the rooms here are amazing. Plenty of room, clean, lovely fireplace and a superb bathroom. Most of the staff were either Australian or Kiwis and they new all about customer service. Such a helpful and friendly crew! We had three full days in Banff so hired a car to get around and see more of the area which was fairly cheap. Well done buffalo mountain lodge!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andystravelog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Up away from town. Had an upstairs suite that was nice. Supersized bathroom but tiny shower. Room has fireplace so has that smell, which most wouldn't mind. Buildings are very spread out. Expensive but it is banff I guess. Only thing missing is a fridge.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank abdadof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

A good base up on Tunnel mountain for exploring the Banff area. The room we had was very spacious with bedroom, bathroom and living area with kitchen. Although the décor was very drab nothing else could be faulted. Explored the area on foot and within five minutes walk are excellent views of the mountains.
One problem was the hot tub was out of action for the weekend due to maintenance. Which is strange as most other reviews noted the same problem, does it ever work ?.
The staff were very helpful and the food in the restaurant first class.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the edge for views and peace on the quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigbruv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time for post your comments regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay but apologize that the hot tub was not working during your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future so you are able to enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for a night with my boyfriend and we really like it. The room was cozy and we loved the fireplace. Staff was nice and friendly. The only complain I had was the bathtub was a bit too small.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFishWhoCantSwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Property: Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing