We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a special occasion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel has a few things to offer that make your holiday something special. The rooms are very beautiful and romantic, with a nice open fireplace, a beautiful wooden ceiling (it is a lodge) and a very nice bathroom and a hot tub outside in the common area. The dining is excellent, nicely decorated and very good quality food. The hotel is located in a quite part of Banff, but still close to all the attractions that Banff has to offer. Not really cheap, but you certainly get value for money.

Room Tip: If you go here for a special occasion, spend the extra money on a premier room. It adds that little...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,502)
There are newer reviews for Buffalo Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

After a long day of travelling from Quebec City (2 flights with a transit in Toronto), we had arrived at the Calgary Airport. Then about 40 minutes later, boarded the pre-booked Brewster Airport Express bus to Banff, arriving around 7.15pm. The bus ride was comfy and smooth, however, upon arrival in Banff down town, we still have to catch another short taxi ride to the Buffalo Moutain Lodge, albeit a free ride.

Feeling tired, we were asked to fill in some forms at Reception, not something that you would expect after a whole days of travelling ... But to our surprise, our request of a quiet, 2nd floor (with arched ceiling) Premium room with twin beds was granted, far away from the Reception building - really nice! What was better are the views from our own balcony (but not too private as your next door neighbours balcony are just next to yours) - unblocked Mountain views with thick snow everywhere ...

The room was not only spacious, but come with a huge bathroom, with a separate claw legged tub and shower cubicle. Of course, needless to say, there is a real log burning fireplace in the room - our very first experience with a real fireplace (we are from the Tropics, you see). The ambience was so so nice that I started humming to Melissa Manchester's song - outside it could be snowing ...but we never felt so warm. There were lots of storage closets around, hanging bars for winter and skiing clothings I guess - nice for a longer stay!

Now for the negatives -
There are no safe or minibar here. No slippers and dental kit as well. The pillows offered were small and too soft for any neck support, so add a bath towel below the pillow. Location wise, its quite a trek to the down town, especially in the heavy snow.

Staff are all very friendly and helpful. When my husband has a very bad throat, we requested and they sent some free honey to the room for us. They also helped to start the log fire in our room, giving us detailed bus schedule and directions to a medical doctor, touristy places, pharmacies etc. There was also Free wifi in our room, very fast, too!

While staying here, it is strongly advised that you plan your activities according to the local bus schedule if you are not driving. Buy a one day pass at $5, its so worth it, trust me. The gondola ride to the mountain top is a must, though very expensive! But a horse sledge ride is not that nice, so can avoid. Shopping in the down town area is nice, and surprisingly, not too expensive.

After a wonderful two nights here, we again took a free taxi to the Brewster Express Bus station for our ride to down town Calgary. Do not know if there are other direct buses from Banff to down town Calgary but the Brewster one makes a stop at the Calgary Airport first, wasting us sometime before arriving at the Hotel Marriott in down town Calgary.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor Premium room with vaulted ceilings!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We like this lodge, it is a good value for the price and only about 5 minute to downtown. The place is quiet except for the noise of the train passing nearby but it is not a big issue. The service is really good. The rooms are cozy and we adore the fireplace.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meikuei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I came here for a snall conference in March. It's all very pleasant, with nice rooms and central facilies. I'd be happy to come back here on my own dollar.
I docked one point for some minor issues:
- wifi is free, but very flaky
- they wanted to charge me a full day to extend my checkout to 3 pm
- it's a fair old trek to the centre of Banff if youre on foot. But all part of that healthy pioneer spirit, I suppose.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank BiggerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The setting is absolutely beautiful and the resort is nicely laid out. We were so excited about staying here for our first time and could not wait to arrive. We had a buffalo plasma pet friendly room with kitchen and wood burning fireplace.

Customer service was very good from check in to check out, every employee we ran into had a smile was really nice.

The room was a huge disappointment, dirty entryway, worn out living room carpet, faded chairs, mismatched table and chairs and a bathtub that would not drain all for only $300 per night.

Our room was right across from reception and noisy until around midnight and on the other side of our room was the road and bus stop noise and then the neighbors that we won't discuss further.

We had room service twice and although the menu was very limited with a lot of wild game on it what they served was very good and room service was fast and efficient.

They do have very nice rooms elsewhere in the resort and I would have loved to have gotten one but they do not rent to guests with pets, it would be nice if you had a couple of higher end rooms available, I really appreciate they are pet friendly but pets are only allowed in the old rooms.

Overall there is better value to be had in the area with much nicer pet friendly rooms, probably won't return unless they clean up things a bit, we chose this resort solely based on their web site but the web site was some what deceiving as far as room pictures went.

Room Tip: get a room as far away from reception as possible they look really nice and even have balconies or p...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moduline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I am glad you were able to bring your pet. I apologize that the room wasn't up to your expectations and I assure you we are constantly working on improving our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Warm, cosy clean lodge with our own fireplace and big bathroom. Much better than the fairmont which I didnt like
There is a gym and hot tub which is great after a day on the slopes. I have 2 boys under 5 and they loved the space

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nidhipandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I absolutely love this place! Our room was amazing, cozy kitchenette suite with very comfortable beds! The weekend was freezing, so we spent a lot of time in the lounge in front of the fireplace. It was so warm and relaxing! The food is fantastic! I have stayed here before and would recommend anything on the menu, it's all so good! The staff is so friendly. Service is great. After an afternoon of tubing, my kids enjoyed the hot tub and then snuggled up to watch a movie - a great selection of choices on hand at the front desk! We love coming here, and can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are happy to hear you were able to take advantage of the hot tub, and also enjoyed your meal in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,150 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $113 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing