We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute and Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cute and Cozy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here over the Christmas holidays for a night. Our stay had it's hits and misses.

POSITIVES: The hot tub and steam room were great. We also loved that we had a wood burning fire place in our room. Across the street you had a convenience store and liquor store which was nice when you didn't want to go all the way into town. It is not as central as we expected. Depending what you want this could be good or bad. There is a bus stop outside and you can catch a bus to take you into town. If you don't mind a bit of a hike I'm sure you could walk into town as well. It was nice to be away from the craziness of Banff Ave, The restaurant was delicious.. Although we only had breakfast there (it is not very vegetarian friendly). Staff was friendly. Ski lockers on site for those planning on hitting the hills.

NEGATIVES: Our bathroom looked nothing like the beautiful ones in the pictures. The tub was old and kind of gross. When we booked we booked a king size bed but received a room with 2 beds instead. We didn't bother complaining as it was not a big deal to us. Banff is expensive so we booked through hotwire, the website claimed we would have a mountain view but did not, instead we had the view of a utility shed. I would STRONGLY RECOMMEND getting a second floor room. We heard every step from the unit above us. We had to call the front twice. Once for more fire starter, which they never showed up with, and another time for cable issues which they promptly came and fixed.

All in all I would recommend as the in room fire place, community hot tub and steam room really outweighed the negative.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ndlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    432
    229
    112
    62
See reviews for
310
733
24
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Room 101 at Buffalo Mountain Lodge smells like a roadside motel, has stained furniture and soiled carpeted floors. This room faces out to a road and is located above some sort of mechanical room where a pump sound was coming up through the floor when we walked in.

This room did not look anything like the images on the website and certainly did not come close to measuring up to the steep price tag of $285 per night.

Now I understand that a 'pet-friendly' room could be held to a slightly lower standard than a premier room. But this room was so far removed from the standard that is to be expected from CRMR, we had to ask if there had been some sort of mistake.

We were offered our choice of 30% off or a return of our deposit so that we could go somewhere else. We chose that latter and drove home to Calgary.

If you have pets, do not stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here for a week at Christmas. Staff were friendly. Room fantastic very comfortable, the wood burning fireplace was amazing, heated floors in the bathroom claw foot tub. Very rustic with all amenities. Perfect for a mountain get away. We were visiting family and booked Buffalo Mountain lodge because it was close by. The online pictures of the hotel reflect accurately what the lodge offers.

Christmas Day the staff left a breakfast bread in our room, the day we checked out we ordered coffee to our room and were told it was free of charge.
The only draw back was parking as it was a busy time for the lodge and appeared not enough parking for all the guests. All and all it was a great trip and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brien10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in August 2013 and had amazing timr. So glad we picked this lodge as it was away from hectic Banff but easily accessible to get there by car in 5 minutes. Stunning location. Our property was on ground floor with King size bed fireplace huge bathtub and balcony with chairs looked directly into woodlands. We did not have a fridge in the room but when asked they quickly delivered one. Staff were amazing. Food was great also. We ate in the main restaurant in the evening and also had breakfast there also. One of our favorite places to stay. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliannaSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Wanted to go on a quick get away and chose Banff as we haven't been there for ages. Stayed for 2 nights. Family of 4 with 2 teenagers. Loved it. The room was very nice. Beds were very comfortable, loved the fireplace and the bathroom was amazing. Really enjoyed both the shower and bathtub as well as the heated floor. Although it didn't have a fridge we were able to use the balcony as our "fridge". The only thing was the carpet was very "dirty" looking. We knew we would be a jaunt from the Town but that is why we picked it. We were there to hike so didn't mind the walk to and from town. It was nice and quiet.

Although we never ate at the Lodge (other than a quick breakfast) we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptherres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post you feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are so happy you enjoyed your time at the Lodge and was able to take advantage of the fireplace in the room. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary,Alberta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We decided to head out to Banff for a weekend getaway and Buffalo Mountain Lodge checked all of our "must haves" -smaller place, wood burning fireplace, restaurant on site for breakfast, king size bed and rustic charm.

We booked directly with the hotel online and took advantage of their special with breakfast included. We were able to enjoy the breakfast buffet twice over our stay and were very impressed with the food quality and selection on the buffet. The 9$ difference in price for each nights stay made this a great choice as the buffet was 19$ per person if we hadn't booked it .

We stayed in a Buffalo Room with a king bed on the second floor. The room must have been upgraded within the last few months as there was still green painters tape on the cabinets in the kitchenette. The sofa and chair were new along with upgraded carpet and paint.

We booked this room due to it having a kitchenette and it came in handy to have a small fridge, microwave, stove top and dishes to use. We were able to bring some lunch and snack items with us. There was a coffee maker, kettle and basic utensils along with a dish rack and cloths to make clean up a breeze. There was a 4 person table and the couch was a sofa bed.

We found the bathroom adequate, lots of towels to use, lots of hot water and more than enough counter space. The only thing that seemed to need updating was the warn tub. The grips on the bottom were "grey" in age and they provided a non slip matt to make up for this.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here, would come back again !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadianbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigantine, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for the last night of our Rockies vacation. Everything from check-in to departure was simply perfect. We booked via hotels.com, which I highly recommend. You will see that some travelers have given this property negative reviews, however, after staying here I cannot see how anyone could have a problem with this hotel. If you are looking for an uber romantic, luxurious stay but with a rustic or lodge like feel, then this is your place! The bathroom is simply beautiful, complete with a heated stone (believe slate) floor, amazing claw foot soaking tub, big enough for two and a nice stall shower. The room itself was really special. Vaulted ceilings make you feel like you are in your own private lodge. Wood burning fireplace (they provide plenty of free firewood and matches) very comfy king size bed with luxurious, warm comforter. Private deck with chairs allow you to get some fresh air, all while sitting in the bathrobe provided in the room. We did not have dinner in the hotel restaurant but the menu looked quite nice. We chose to get take out from Bear Street Tavern (amazing pizza) and enjoy the fireplace in our room. We did order room service for breakfast. Our food was a tad bit cold but please keep in mind that the food is prepared in the kitchen and must travel outside in order to get to your room. We ordered a ton of food, it was delicious and super cheap. This hotel was a perfect way to end our vacation and I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: we were given a room in the furthest bank of rooms, backed up to a wooded area. Very private, extre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenr005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the lodge and the beautiful scenery that surround us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.6 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Property: Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing