We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Relaxing Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I spent three nights at the hotel, for a workshop and the experience was so relaxing! Our room was large and had a wood burning fireplace. The beds were a little hard but the pillows made up for that! The bathroom was spacious and had a large claw-foot soaking tub. The Wi-Fi worked efficiently but our cell service was spotty depending on where we were on the resort. The food provided was delicious and plentiful with lots of local options. The rooms and common areas were clean and fresh looking. The conference and meeting rooms have large windows and good air quality/tempurature. The hot tub was not working for the days we were there and there is no swimming pool on the premises.

I would return to this hotel and would love to be able to spend time there skiing in the Winter.

Room Tip: The 1100 & 1200's room blocks are large, newer and have easy parking.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLR306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,493)
There are newer reviews for Buffalo Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

The good news first - The property is beautiful. The rooms are huge with rustic furniture, a fireplace and spacious sitting area and a bathroom with a claw foot tub and separate shower. Firewood, kindling and matches are provided. You would think after spending the money, time and effort to provided such beautifully appointed rooms the service would match - NOT!
First we arrived on the Rocky Mountaineer after dark. We were picking up a car the next day, but that night a driver took us to the Lodge and dropped us and our luggage off. After checking in, the clerk told us where to park our car. The property is very large and had we had a car that information would have been helpful. We told her we had no car, so the clerk told us we could walk - with our three pieces of luggage to the room. She made no offer to have someone help us. PS I am 65 and my husband is 80 and we could have used help. We had to walk up multiple sets of stairs and a very long distance to finally get to our second floor room.
After we finally got to the room, we needed to eat since we had not had dinner. We called room service and were informed the dining room was closed but the bar could deliver food. My husband wanted a burger and I wanted a sandwich. I was told they could send the burger, but sandwiches were not on the bar menu so I couldn't have that.
There was no safe in the room, no water glasses in the bathroom, the soap dish at the tub and shower we caked with soap.. The coffee maker was difficult to plug in and use.
Once we got a car we asked where to park. We were told we could park on the street right behind the building where our room was. The clerk failed to mention there was no way to get on to the Lodge property from there.
This should have been a great experience, but it was not

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princes110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We would like to apologize for your experience with the the Front Desk as that is certainly not the standard we strive to provide. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Went to the Buffalo Mountain Lodge, as I was the maid of honor at my friends wedding there. The hotel is beautiful, the scenery is amazing. My husband and I booked at a bed and breakfast for the night before the wedding (to save a little money) and then booked at the Lodge for the night of the wedding. At the last minute, we decided to change our reservation to the Lodge for both nights. We called the lodge, but they told us they had no rooms available for that night, which was fine, our mistake for changing our minds at the last minute! But then we went to meet the bride there to get ready for the rehearsal dinner, and another guest of the wedding, who was sharing a room, decided that she wanted her own room. She went to the front desk and right away got her own room! How is that possible if there were no rooms left, when we called 20 minutes prior? Anyways, here's a tip, the basic rooms, are alright, but for a $20 upgrade, you can get a room with a much nicer view and a waaay nicer bathroom. The standard rooms have a crappy old tub... the upgraded rooms have heated floors, a claw foot tub, and separate shower. It is defiantly worth the extra $20.00. The staff did an amazing job on the wedding, and really catered to us the rest of the time we were there. The king bed in our room was the most comfortable bed in a hotel I have ever slept in. I would stay at this hotel again. Great place.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canada_MexicoBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Positives - Premium rooms were very nice. Soaker tub, balcony, all very nice.

But, the very expensive room was charged to the wrong person after the trip despite being told it wouldn't. For the amount of money the rooms cost, not having a fridge was pretty sad.

Here's the great part: The front desk failed to book the proper number of nights so we were evicted and hastily put into a room with my wife, my toddler, my brother in law, my father in law, my mother in law, and I in a room with 2 beds. SEVEN people in ONE room was their response to our predicament!!

It was for a wedding. The wedding dinner was one of WORST catering failures I've seen in ANY event, corporate, wedding, or otherwise. Appetizers that were OK at best, dinners that were an hour late, and quality that I expect from a budget buffet restaurant on the shady end of town, not a luxury resort.

Our stay here won the prize for the WORST EVER hotel experience. Paying a brutal premium was just the salt on the wound. To say it fell below our expectations would be the stupidest understatement uttered in a very long time.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a hotel that costs less and offers at least the very basics; meaning not this "...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thebluecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your comments in regards to your experience at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We do take any experience such as this seriously, and your comments are important to us. Please feel free contact me directly if you would like to speak about any of the above issues.
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Manager bmlmanager@crmr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

stayed here for a couple of nights at the beginning of our holiday to Canada/Alaska - just what I expected it to be and look like, very traditional away from the town centre nice and quiet and serene, breakfast very good and plentiful, customer service excellent. evening meal also very good service and quality. only let down is that we arrived there at approximately 7pm and the restaurant was already fully booked, and they could only offer us meals in our room which would have been fine, but it was only from the dinner menu so no light snacks etc

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good well maintained accommodation in a pretty part of Banff although it is a 2 km uphill walk from downtown Banff so a car or a taxi ride is preferable. The log fire made the cabin very attractive and homely; we only ate breakfast at Buffalo Mountain which was excellent and served by helpful knowledgeable staff. I will use this resort again when next in Banff. One downside however is lack of parking space, each block contains 8 rooms with space for 4 cars, on 2 out of 3 nights we were unable to park by our cabin, also the furniture made of branches is a little tired.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a great first hotel in Canada. Exactly as expected in the wilds of Alberta, a real wooden lodge surrounded by pine trees and hills and silence, but with all mod cons as required for a very comfortable stay. The rooms were large, the bed even larger and it was really comfortable to sleep off the long plane journey from the UK. The staff were very helpful and attentive to 2 very jet lagged tourists, and the breakfasts good quality and big enough to set you up for the day (try the buffet). The location is great for touring the surrounding areas by car, but it's a long trek uphill if you wanted to walk from the centre of Banff (our only slight negative).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the lodge and the beautiful scenery and wildlife that surround us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.6 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
968 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $114 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing