We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal place to stay while in banff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Banff
sherwood park, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“ideal place to stay while in banff”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

we stayed here over a long weekend based upon a number of recommendations from friends. it turned out to be a very wonderful stay.

there were wedding receptions on two of the three evenings that we were there, however we got a room that was at the edge of the complex and higher up - it was far away from the reception room and therefore it was very quiet where we were. there was some noise for about 20 minutes as a number of wedding guests gathered in the deck below us, however they were mindful of the noise they were making and disappeared at about 11 pm. our room also had a bit of a view into the woods behind the hotel complex.

the room has a fireplace, and there is an ample supply of logs outside the rooms and more than enough kindling to get you started. the ice machine is located centrally in the complex (and there is only one), so its a bit of a walk to go and get ice from the room. i imagine that you can get room service to do this for you in a pinch. the bathroom is a very generous size, and having a separate clawfoot tub and a large shower is a nice touch. another nice touch is having a separate coat and shoe area from the general closet area. you get a lot of space here compared to other places in town.

check in time is a rather late 4 pm and they hold fast to this. also, while close to town, it is far enough that you really need to have a rental car. the hotel complex is also up a steep hill, and there is just the one restaurant on the premises, so having a car will be a must for most people. parking on the grounds is limited, very tight, and ingress and egress can be a challenge if you have a larger vehicle.

looking at the way the hotel is set up, how quiet your room is and what view you are going to get is completely dependent upon which room you are assigned. also, while rooms on the second floor of any of the buildings are nice, you need to remember that you are the one who is going to have to take your luggage up there (stairs only).

the hotel is an ideal spot for people who are in banff for an active vacation (hiking, skiing, biking)

Room Tip: see if you can get a room on the second floor at the upper edge of the complex away from everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the lodge and the beautiful scenery and wildlife that surround us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    461
    256
    121
    64
See reviews for
337
787
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Last weekend my family and I stayed at Buffalo Mtn Lodge, we experienced helpful, friendly staff. The room was cozy and the bed was very comfortable! The morning we left, we ordered breakfast for room-service and it was delicious - French toast, the smoothie and the frittata!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Girl
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We wanted a quaint lodge experience away from crowds and Buffalo Mountain Lodge was almost perfect. The rooms were spacious, the grounds were beautiful and the surrounding mountain scenery was gorgeous. There were ample hiking trails at hand and scenic lookouts nearby.
Nice amenities....room service, real wood burning fireplace in the room, bathrobes,wonderful claw foot bathtub, laundromat and convenience store within walking distance, flat screen TV (never watched) and restaurant on site. Lovely balcony with sitting area.
The staff was friendly and most helpful....I left a pair of cherished earrings behind and called later that day to inquire about them. Not only did they have them in safe keeping, they did their best to get them back to me.
The lodge and bar area are warm and inviting....lots of wood, antler chandeliers and a wonderful fireplace...there's also a hot tub nearby.
On the negative side, there is no microwave or fridge in the room, the room is on the dark side...needs more lighting or lighter lampshades. This has been mentioned in many reviews but nothing seems to improve. The room would benefit from a ceiling fan (with lights). Parking is a bit crowded and limited and there are no elevators. Lastly, it's quite a trek from town....you need a car as the road back is quite dark and steep.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaymster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We realized staying in Banff during the summer would be busy, we had no idea that we would have to keep driving around the resort to find a place to park!!! We were given an upstairs room with no elevator, schlepping luggage was not what we had in mind after a long day of driving. The room was a nice size. Bedroom, living area and small kitchenette. It was clean and had lots of towels. The restaurant was very good for breakfast and Eryn was the best waitress we had all week. We like that it was a bit off the main drag but it was very packed and the walls are thin, could hear every conversation outside clearly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lanzie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I do apologize that you found your room to be noisy, I can assure you we are continually working on upgrading our guest rooms.. Guests are welcome to speak with us during the course of their stay, so issues raised may be rectified and hopefully change their experience. Hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We wanted to be close to Banff, but not in the middle of madness of the tourist town. This was perfect. You feel like you're in the woods in a cozy cabin. The fireplace is ready to be lit and has a small sitting area in front of it. Nice small deck outside of each room. Comfortable beds and a nice sized bathroom, complete with a stand-alone tub. Reasonable pricing and great staff. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the end. We stayed in 1101 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfmdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a warm and friendly welcome at the reception. The decor of the place is really nice with all the wood. Our room was spacious and clean and we could park the car in front of our room. The only had breakfast in the hotel, and that was all fine. Friendly staff. You do need a car if you want to stay here as it is out of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belgiantravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a great place to visit. We've been there in all seasons. The staff are responsive when questions are asked - whether it is to light the fireplace or where to go to enjoy a bite to eat.

We appreciate what it takes to maintain the history of such a place. It is nice to be able to enjoy some history of the mountains but also the conveniences of a great lodge. My favourite thing about the lodge is the food. They have a great dining room in the main lodge and Cilantro is a nice place to eat as well.

The lodge is up on a mountain so it can be quiet and it is a nice walk down to the main streets of Banff.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top of the property are furthest from the road and offer a more quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our overnight accommodations and took advantage of dining in both the restaurants. Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Warmest Regards,

General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.8 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
11.5 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.6 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Property: Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing