We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$125
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$126
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$189
$158
Delta Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$201
$156
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bow View Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$74
$62
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,649)
Filter reviews
1,649 results
Traveler rating
628
524
282
139
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
524
282
139
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier roomhot tubclaw foot tubheated floorswood burning fireplacewedding venuestainless steelopen firereal fireplacemountain lodgeshuttle servicehuge bathroomromantic getawayour honeymoonfree shuttledowntown banffking bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,231 - 1,236 of 1,649 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights as part of a fly drive holiday. After arriving too early for check in were told we could have another upgraded room for an extra $30 per person. On declining we were given a complimentary upgrade anyway. Room was lovely with open log fire & balcony facing onto woods although it was too cool to make use of this. Bathroom was very spacious with free standing roll top bath & shower & under floor heating. Bed was large with the deepest mattress we had ever seen. After 2 days of excessive walking getting on & off with aching knees & hips proved a challenge!! The on site hot tub set at 40 deg. helped with the aching joints though. We were sad to leave. On the down side it was a long walk from town with an uphill walk back, if you enjoy walking as we do that's not a problem. However, for those who do not have suitable footwear, no transport or like to have a drink there is a restaurant in the hotel.

Room Tip: From reading other reviews the upgraded room appears to be the better option. Don't know if the review would have been as positive if we had stuck to the original room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 324NorfolkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your overnight accommodations in our recently upgraded Premier Rooms. We love the extra space they offer, as well as the in floor heating in the bathrooms! Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Buffalo Mountain Lodge is located in a beautiful setting just outside of Banff. It is nestled within the trees with peekaboo views of most the mountains that surround the area. The rooms have a rustic yet modern feel with a fully stocked wood burning fireplace and a claw foot bathtub. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are well furnished. Each balcony comes with chairs to relax and take in the surroundings. The room we stayed in was away from the road and was very peaceful. The hotel was completly booked yet we felt like the only ones there. The food was delicous and the service was great.

The bathroom could use some detailed cleaning, but was acceptable. The hot tub wasn't as nice as the pictures show.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the interior of the property to avoid street noise of views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our overnight accommodations and took advantage of dining in the Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant. Hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

After staying at the CRMR Emerald for a few nights prior, we had hoped that the bufallo would be a good location for a final night stay on the way back to Calgary. This was not the case unfortunately, and Buffalo is poor by comparison. The bathroom is not nicely finished, and the fireplace let smoke into the room despite having the vents open as far as they could go... given one is going to sleep right there, this was obviously concerning so we extinguished the fire before it burnt and smoked us out. Moreover, we were rudely awaken by a neighbour using the shower which sounded as if someone was showering right next to you; the walls are very thin it seemed.

Overall this place felt like it would be fine for people looking for a tourist holiday during the ski season, but its not the place for a romantic summer get-away thats for sure. Find somewhere else away from Banff if you want that - its way too comercial in this whole area. Given the choice again, i think we'd stay in Canmore.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExploringTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I've stayed at Buffalo Mountain Lodge a few times in the past 2 years and every time I'm never dissapointed!! The rooms are so genuine nad the fireplace is such an added bonus, especially in Winter.
The seasonal restaurant "Cilantro's" is defintely a must do, woodfired pizzas made right infront of you and the smiling staff are always up for a chat! Definitely definitely one of my favourite little restaurants!! We also ate at the "Sleeping Buffalo", very nice array of Canadian meats like Buffalo and Caribou, I had the Caribou medallions as my server suggested, and there was a PARTY IN MY MOUTH!!!! great great meal!
All in all, the atmosphere and genuine feel of this lodge makes me happy to support a family owned company.
We'll definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade toa king room ;)
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passerby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and dining experience in the Sleeping Buffalo Dining Room. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here, the location was great! It is away from the crowds downtown, although I agree with other reviews that the traffic noise from the street can be heard fairly regularily, it didn't keep me awake. Dining room was lovely and had decent higher end fare, tho service was a little slow, staff are just gearing up for the high season so I expected as much. The room was decent, beds comfortable with decent linens towels etc, wood burning fireplace was nice and kitchenette. Mini fridge was propped up by a piece of firewood and wasn't level and the door did not close properly. Needed repair or replacement. Poor water pressure in the bathroom- shower and toilet. Parking was a bit of a challenge with narrow driveways. Furnishings were a tad dated and showing thier wear, windows are older, some don't open and some leak. What bothered me the most was that the room was dirty. Dust on the mini blinds, dust on the furnishings, dirt and fingerprints on the walls, dirt on the walls in the kitchenete and the bathroom, the whole place needed a thorough cleaning so I started to wonder how clean the dishes in the kitchenette were and just how clean the bedding was...was more like camping in a rustic cabin in the woods the staying at a higher end hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews