We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy winter getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cozy winter getaway”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a few minutes drive up Tunnel Mountain, far enough away from Banff Ave to provide more of a "cabin" feel. We had a rental car, which I think is a must for this location.

Recommendation: pay the $30/night for upgraded premium room, but only if you can get a room on the upper floor. Upper floor rooms have high, vaulted, wooden ceilings. We stayed in the 1200 range of rooms, I think the 1100s would be ideal, with best view. Also, the bathrooms in the premium rooms are spacious with heated floors & nice finishes.

The fire place, wood burning, is really nice. They provide you with a starter kit each day. Our room had a flat screen TV with DVD player. Also had nice sized deck. Wifi worked well.

We didn't eat here, too many other better options in town. I highly recommend "The Bear Street Tavern" for pizza, "The Bison" for a nice dinner, and the Fairmont breakfast buffet at least once (pricey).

The shoveling crew was cranky, front desk service was helpful. Overall, really enjoyable and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: pay the $30/night for upgraded premium room, but only if you can get a room on the upper floor. Upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    461
    254
    121
    64
See reviews for
336
786
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Looking for a romantic getaway when coincidentally ended up in Banff over Alberta family day long weekend without knowing it was a holiday. There were no towels in the change rooms for the hot tub and bottles all over the hot tub area and the stream rooms smells like mildew. The room was average, very clean but did not have a bar fridge or kitchen, did not include breakfast which other hotels do include for the same price in the area. The smoke alarm in the rooms are very sensitive and the firepit very shallow so when using the wood burning fireplace the smoke alarm would sound over and over! We could also hear other smoke alarms going off in other rooms. There is no view of the mountains from the room as the reservation agent said and when booking the resort you can not call the hotel directly rather you are funneled through hotels.com and I 800 numbers. This hotel is not in walking distance to downtown. I love Banff and the Rocky mtns. but this hotel was just over priced and nothing special.

Room Tip: Request a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoshked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We apologize that you did not enjoy all of the amenities our property has to offer. Our Front Desk has mini fridges that can be brought to your room upon request and our Buffalo Studios do have kitchenettes with a microwave, sink and small fridge. For future bookings, you can call the hotel directly and they can handle your reservation and reserve you a room that would better suit your needs during your stay. Hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Buffalo Mountain Lodge in January 2013 and we absolutely fell in love with it. I highly recommend this hotel to adventurous couples looking for a romantic getaway or a relaxing escape.
When we walked into our room for the first time, we gasped at how beautiful it was. Our room looked like a cabin on the inside, with high arched ceilings, a stone fireplace and large windows overlooking the mountains. It was so peaceful, we didnt leave our room until the next day.
The bathroom was probably my favourite part. The standing bathtub was so romantic. It was more romantic than a jacuzzi or hot tub would have been, You can even dim the lights in the bathroom to create a romantic setting.
The location of the lodge was very convenient. It was perched on the mountain above the town so it was a very short drive to downtown Banff.
I will definitely be coming back. Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities that your overnight accomodations provided. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

When we pulled up to Buffalo Mountain Lodge and saw the timber framed lodge in a winter scene, it looked beautiful. We got our room and it was the coziest room complete with a wood burning fireplace and my favorite the claw foot tub, the perfect room to start off our relaxing weekend. The views from the room were of Tunnel Mountain, when you’d go out on to the balcony to absorb the views, it was actually amazing. I would definitely recommend it and go back myself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulina123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the Premier room that you stayed in. The Premier rooms were recently renovated to include the claw foot bath tub and heated slate flooring in the bathrooms, so we are pleased to hear you enjoyed those amenities! The wood burning fireplaces sure add a nice touch to the mountain experience as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a friends wedding and had an amazing time. The hotel was beautiful, our chalet perfectly suited the setting, and the wood burning fire place in our room was a nice touch too! I was absolutely thrilled that not only was this such a nice hotel, but it was pet friendly for large dogs too! And if you are looking for a banff wedding venue, I couldn't think of a better location. Their wedding was beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 1109 in February 2013 for two nights. We decided that we would travel to Banff from Edmonton to show the children the Rockies. It was a last minute booking with the front desk. It was not the cheapest place but the reviews and pictures looked good. It was even better!
When we arrived at the Lodge, after a 4 hour drive it was exactly what you would expect from a lodge. The room was great. The fire added to the lodge feel. The kids loved the outdoor hot tub.
To top it of, we had deer walking around the woods outside the back patio door.
We will remember the lodge as much as Banff, both stunning!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and time in the Rockies. Hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The idea of staying here is to feel as though you're in a log cabin in the middle of a forest. Wood burning fire, solid wood building and furniture, animals outside your back door. It does all of this with a floor heated bathroom also. We loved the setting and on the first night I opened the back door to sit on the porch and there was a deer 2 metres away from me staring at me! Throughout our stay we saw deer walking through the place as it's so close to the forest. Once you get the fire going it's great and you can't beat falling asleep as the burning embers of the fire die down. Only criticism of the room was that it was dark, even with every light on. Good for a cosy fire but not when you want to get ready to go out.
This hotel is just far out of the centre of Banff to feel secluded but close enough to get into the main areas either a 20 min walk or 5 mins cab. Free WiFi. A big hot tub. The restaurant was expensive but excellent.
Overall very happy with our stay. It was just like we wanted.

Room Tip: Get your room so it backs onto the forest so you have more chance of wildlife coming to visit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheMKTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, the wood burning fireplace in your room and that you got the opportunity to see some wildlife! I hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.8 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
11.5 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.6 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Property: Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing