We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$254
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
$354
$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$489
$375
Hidden Ridge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$564
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$403
$343
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$345
$334
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$415
$397
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$343
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$266
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,684)
Filter reviews
1,685 results
Traveler rating
640
536
290
141
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
640
536
290
141
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier roomhot tubclaw foot tubheated floorswood burning fireplacewedding venuestainless steelopen firereal fireplaceshuttle servicemountain lodgehuge bathroomromantic getawayour honeymoonfree shuttlelog cabindowntown banff
Filter
Updating list...
1,291 - 1,296 of 1,685 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Looking for a romantic getaway when coincidentally ended up in Banff over Alberta family day long weekend without knowing it was a holiday. There were no towels in the change rooms for the hot tub and bottles all over the hot tub area and the stream rooms smells like mildew. The room was average, very clean but did not have a bar fridge or kitchen, did not include breakfast which other hotels do include for the same price in the area. The smoke alarm in the rooms are very sensitive and the firepit very shallow so when using the wood burning fireplace the smoke alarm would sound over and over! We could also hear other smoke alarms going off in other rooms. There is no view of the mountains from the room as the reservation agent said and when booking the resort you can not call the hotel directly rather you are funneled through hotels.com and I 800 numbers. This hotel is not in walking distance to downtown. I love Banff and the Rocky mtns. but this hotel was just over priced and nothing special.

Room Tip: Request a mountain view!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoshked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We apologize that you did not enjoy all of the amenities our property has to offer. Our Front Desk has mini fridges that can be brought to your room upon request and our Buffalo Studios do have kitchenettes with a microwave, sink and small fridge. For future bookings, you can call the hotel directly and they can handle your reservation and reserve you a room that would better suit your needs during your stay. Hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Buffalo Mountain Lodge in January 2013 and we absolutely fell in love with it. I highly recommend this hotel to adventurous couples looking for a romantic getaway or a relaxing escape.
When we walked into our room for the first time, we gasped at how beautiful it was. Our room looked like a cabin on the inside, with high arched ceilings, a stone fireplace and large windows overlooking the mountains. It was so peaceful, we didnt leave our room until the next day.
The bathroom was probably my favourite part. The standing bathtub was so romantic. It was more romantic than a jacuzzi or hot tub would have been, You can even dim the lights in the bathroom to create a romantic setting.
The location of the lodge was very convenient. It was perched on the mountain above the town so it was a very short drive to downtown Banff.
I will definitely be coming back. Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities that your overnight accomodations provided. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

When we pulled up to Buffalo Mountain Lodge and saw the timber framed lodge in a winter scene, it looked beautiful. We got our room and it was the coziest room complete with a wood burning fireplace and my favorite the claw foot tub, the perfect room to start off our relaxing weekend. The views from the room were of Tunnel Mountain, when you’d go out on to the balcony to absorb the views, it was actually amazing. I would definitely recommend it and go back myself.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulina123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the Premier room that you stayed in. The Premier rooms were recently renovated to include the claw foot bath tub and heated slate flooring in the bathrooms, so we are pleased to hear you enjoyed those amenities! The wood burning fireplaces sure add a nice touch to the mountain experience as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a friends wedding and had an amazing time. The hotel was beautiful, our chalet perfectly suited the setting, and the wood burning fire place in our room was a nice touch too! I was absolutely thrilled that not only was this such a nice hotel, but it was pet friendly for large dogs too! And if you are looking for a banff wedding venue, I couldn't think of a better location. Their wedding was beautiful!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in room 1109 in February 2013 for two nights. We decided that we would travel to Banff from Edmonton to show the children the Rockies. It was a last minute booking with the front desk. It was not the cheapest place but the reviews and pictures looked good. It was even better!
When we arrived at the Lodge, after a 4 hour drive it was exactly what you would expect from a lodge. The room was great. The fire added to the lodge feel. The kids loved the outdoor hot tub.
To top it of, we had deer walking around the woods outside the back patio door.
We will remember the lodge as much as Banff, both stunning!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and time in the Rockies. Hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews