We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice setting......but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice setting......but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge Dec 20th, 2012. It sure was cold outside, -20c on average. We had two Premier Rooms. Very quiet location, rustic, traditional, nice rooms.
Wood burrning fireplaces - different and traditional, but not very effective. As we knew the wood would not burn all night, we set the two thermostats to +23c. Woke up the next morning absolutely freezing. Obviously the thermostats do not work. Same in both rooms so not a one-off. Also not many matches in our rooms to light the fireplace!
Not enough coffee in the room, no cream either. They knew how many occupants in each room, but not enough glasses or mugs.
So nice hotel, nice location, poor heating, other little things failed.
By the way, I am a travel agent so always look at hotels to see if I would recommend to my clients - the Buffalo Mountain Lodge I would only recommend during the summer (in Alberta, July and August!). Felt the rates vere very high for what we got.

Room Tip: Views from upper floor rooms in the 1100 range are very impressive - however as our stay was during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    424
    224
    110
    61
See reviews for
304
718
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed in one of the premium suites at the lodge over the Christmas holidays. We enjoyed everything about our stay and would recommend to anyone wanting a get-a-way in the mountains. The lodge and buildings built out of stone and timbers fit right into the picturesque surroundings and is located just a few minutes outside the town of Banff where it is quiet and peaceful.

The room itself was very nice and had a large bathroom. Our room came with in-floor heating, wood burning fireplace, and a large claw style tub. We stayed on the second floor and the balcony faced the woods. The views were stunning from either the front landing or the rear balcony. Firewood is well stocked just outside the rooms and burned extremely well in the fireplace - perfect for those that don't normally have fireplaces. The room itself was not overly large but was quite fine for the two of us and spent alot of time touring anyway. The chairs in front of the fireplace made it more cozy especially as the temp outside was freezing and just wanted to stay inside in the evening. The bed was comfortable and didn't have trouble sleeping. I would suggest that they install a small fridge as we kept some things outside to keep them cold. We only used the dining room for Christmas dinner which was excellent, but they do serve breakfast and other meals. They also have a lounge.

This was our first stay at the Lodge and would recommend it to others. We definately plan on going back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your Christmas stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the overnight accomodations in our upgraded Premier rooms. We do apologize that you did not get a mini fridge and had to utilize the balcony to keep your items cold. Mini fridges are available upon request from the front desk upon arrival. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Take care and warm regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

1- The website shows vaulted ceiling suites, so that is what I expected. Instead, the "pine ceiling" was on the main floor and unimpressive. (?!)
2- When I asked about the noise of people walking above, the response was "just have a glass of wine and have the fire going and you should be fine". (?!)
3- The reservation was for 3 people. The suite provided 2 robes and 2 coffee mugs. When the extra cup got delivered, it had a coffee stained saucer. (?!)
4- The internet didn't work, despite trying various network connections. (?!)
A truly disappointing experience, especially after all the advertisement friends did for this place.
Not planning to spend any more here - going for brunch and booking second night elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivanaZelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here for a weekend in December 2012. Our room was a second floor unit with heated floors and claw bathtub in the bathroom. The wood burning fireplace was gorgeous and very relaxing. There are big chairs in front of the fireplace to make very comfortable seating while you stare into the fire. The food was just okay - nothing special. It was a good on-site restaurant but other better dining options are available in the town but you need a car to get there as it is a long walk especially in the winter. I would highly recommend the hotel and we will definitely be returning for another visit.

Room Tip: We had a premier room which had a huge bathroom and was on the second level with beautiful views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romanaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Ive stayed here a few times. It's a beautiful view and the rooms are lovely. There are older and newer rooms. The older ones are still nice but smaller with a less fancy bathroom. They both have fireplaces. Keep in mind it's by right in the main area of banff, it'd be a long walk. If you don't have a vehical it's probably not the best choice.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you love the mountains then this is the place for you. With views of the Rockies on two sides and the Bow Valley on the other two, it;s breathtaking whichever direction you look. The cabins are fantastic with their own log fireplaces. The restaurant for dinner is brilliant...breakfast is more basic but adequate. The staff are friendly and helpful. Only a 5 minute taxi ride from Banff town centre, but far enough away to avoid the tourist hordes. I found my stay incredibly relaxing and would love to return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace, but make sure you turn the underfloor heating down. Bookings for dinne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erkimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We prefer to stay at either of two locations when travelling to Banff. The Banff Springs offers spectacular views, exceptional service, great dining but a big hit to your wallet. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is cozy, intimate, rustic and off season rooms are very reasonable. There are not too many hotel rooms in the world that allow you to build your own fire in a lovely rock fireplace. When you are in your room, you feel as though you are in your own cabin. A car is a good idea but there is a bus stop half a block away. Upon booking, we opted for the bed and breakfast but the breakfast buffet was a disappointment. the scrambled eggs probably came from a carton but we were offered any style of egg freshly made. The granola was too sweet and not hearty enough and the fresh fruit salad seemed to be cut the day before. I would not take the bed and breakfast option again. The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is unusual for it's use of material but certainly feels cleaner than other outdoor tubs that are tile and grout. The only small glitch was we were so enamoured with the fire place we set off the fire alarm. Oops.

Room Tip: If you upgrade to the premier room, the bathroom is fancier with heated floors but you should still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skookum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to apologize for your experience with breakfast in the Sleeping Buffalo Dining Room as that is certainly not the food and beverage standard we strive to provide. We hope to welcome you back again in the future where we can offer you the dining experience we are known for!
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Manager for Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Property: Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing