We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night's sleep!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Georgetown, KY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great night's sleep!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here our first night of our trip. We lit a fire, put on the fluffy bathrobes and dozed off for a great night's sleep! Ask for an upstairs unit, they have vaulted ceilings. Nicely appointed room and bathroom. Nice view to the mountains from the balcony. Smelled a little smoky from the fireplace, but expected. The restaurant for breakfast has a nice buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs unit, vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us including your accommodations in our upgraded Premier room. The Premier rooms on the second floor do have the added touch of a pine vaulted ceiling. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    424
    225
    110
    61
See reviews for
304
719
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Small bus ride up Tunnel Mt Rd from Banff to Buffalo Moutain Lodge, great Character. Our lodge room was at the back of the resort, with our room opening into the woods, what a view. Lovely stone fireplace all set up for you to start if you so wish. Nice big bed, comfortable. The only downside was the bloody train that rattles through the valley througout the night tooting it's bloody whislte, tried earplugs for 2nd night which helped, but apart from that it was a lovely quiet atmosphere. Not far from town, the bus to Sulphor Mountain and the Gondola. Again prices for breakfast a bit steep. $26 pp plus Sales Tax. Staff friendly and helpful. No swimming pool but there was an open air jacuzzi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nivloce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were tired looking in places, tried to use fire but it kept setting smoke alarm off had to keep both doors open to try and clear smoke, which defeated the object! Rooms very dark as previously mentioned in reviews. Rooms quite dated and in need of some TLC. staff very helpful and restaurant staff were excellent except for last night when not so good. Hot tub very welcoming gym very basic though not a big thing as not reason for holiday.excellent location with easy access to town.The setting was just what we expected though little things-attention to detail that let it own. Our room was a deluxe double what it laked in deluxe the location made up for.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Josette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

One of our most expensive places we stayed while touring Canada, but sadly not up to our standards on the cleaning front. The room was very dusty with unclean flooring, it really was in need of a springclean! While we appreciate the room holds an open fire, we are quite sure this couldnt have been used for some while, therefore it should have been clean.
The bed, bedding and towels however were clean and of high standard. very comfy bed and fat fluffy towels.
Our highlight here was a visit from a deer who stood and sat in front of our apartment for some time, and the resident Canadian squirrel kept us entertained.
Great view of the mountains, quite area but not far to the town.
Breakfast was good and reception staff very helpful and polite.
Clean up your act guys, this place should get a 5!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honestlady72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We thought the location of this hotel was very good as it was only five minutes from the centre of town and yet beside the mountains. the room we had was lovely view of the mountains from the bedroom.Couldnt light the log fire as it was too warm but would love to have sat beside it. The room was very clean and spacious , bathroom was big with a bath and a shower, bath robes were provided which was a plus. Would Definately recommend staying here, wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: I would ask for a mountain view as its lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceyAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We spent two days here in late August, and stayed there to meet relatives who were already booked in. Their room was very comfortable, if a bit small, with a fireplace. I booked the Murphy bed unit, so that we would have more room to sit and visit, without bouncing on the beds. It was
expensive, but this is Banff, so I went ahead. The clerk tried to talk me out of it, and we found out why.
A good thing that the bistro was closed for the time we were there, as it was literally at our doorstep. We would have been very unhappy at the noise and lack of privacy.
Housekeeping needs organization. We left the "make up room" sign on the door at 8:30, and returned at 3:30 to find nothing done. The little chambermaids were very polite and apologetic, but we had to get lost for half an hour, when I really wanted a nap. I was not pleased to find half-used toiletries in the very nice bathroom, at these prices.
The one thing that annoyed me was opening the TV cabinet, with a DVD in my hand, and staring at a VCR and old TV. Not quite what one expects in a $300.00 a night room, anywhere. At check-out, I mentioned this to the clerk, who brightly said "they were slowly upgrading". Slow is right.
Overall, we had a wonderful time, with great food, cheerful dining room staff, and sunny weather.
I just did not tell my husband how much the room cost.
There is no pool, but the weather is usually too cool. A nice hot tub, but you cannot use it before 10 am, which seems a bit late for most travellers.
If we go back, we will be very picky, and inspect the room before booking. Internet photos all look wonderful.

Room Tip: Look at it first, and go up the hill to the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureenconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We would like to assure guests that we appreciate and take into consideration all feedback as it allows us to continually improve on our offering. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us however would like to apologize for the additional wait required for housekeeping as this is not the standard of service we strive to provide. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We thought that this Hotel was very good - we had a top floor room that overlooked the road and another hotel. This doesn't sound great, but actually was quite nice as you could see the mountains behind.
The fireplace looks great (far too hot for us to have lit it) and the beds were comfy - certainly we had a good night's sleep. As others have said, the rooms are a little dark, but again, I don't really see that's an issue.
We didn't have any problem with parking (we used the car a couple of times) and check in was nice and smooth. I notice that other reviewers had problems with noise, however it was nice and quiet while we were there.
Location-wise, if you can't walk long distances, then Banff centre would be a challenge. Not so much the walk in, as it's all down hill, but the walk back would be tough. We got the Roam bus back that's regular and stops right outside the lodges - pretty easy to be honest.
Unfortunately, my wife was bitten badly by some sort of insect while in the hot-tub, that ended up getting infected - hardly the Hotel's fault, but spoilt things a little!
The only negative part of this stay was a trip to the informal restaurant - I think called Cilantro, or something like that. The food here for me was over-priced for pretty basic fare that I could probably knock up in the kitchen - I felt the menu choice was pretty limited and not very inspiring. I didn't eat in the main restaurant or have the breakfast, as both of these looked pretty pricey to me.
Outside of the pricey restaurant and this Cilantro place, I didn't find any eateries near, so you're a little limited on choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pod3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Property: Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing