We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good wedding venue!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We had my daughters wedding her last year. The reason I dont think this is an ideal wedding venue is because they do not like the noise (which can not be helped). They dont warn their other guests that they are a wedding venue and if a guest complains about any noise then you have to pay for their room. I think every wedding must have to pick up a couple of rooms as it would be impossible not to make noise. The reason we choose this venue was the balcony doors thinking we could have the air flowing from the mountains and have great evening. From early on we were told to keep quiet, they did not want people going outside to smoke, they would not let us have the balcony doors or any windows open which caused us all to sweat profusely and be uncomfortable. I mean when the mother of the bride has to remove her undergarments from sweating profusely there is a problem! They did not treat us as a priority and put there other guests above us the larger group and the one paying th big bucks..We were very disappointed at the way we were treated the next day and would not reccomend this for a venue if you want to have fun and have your guests relax! Another case of we have your money now tough luck! They should book the wedding guests near the venue as this would make more sense. I guess they like making double the room cost when people complain as im sure the other guests only get a discount and not a free night!

Room Tip: dont book near the wedding venue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kashmir43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Thank you for your feedback regarding your daughter’s wedding at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I would like to apologize that you had to pick up a few of the guests rooms but when a wedding group does not booking the entire property, the hotel is responsible for ensuring everyone staying at the venue enjoys their time. Our planning and communication leading up to the event certainly is extensive and we do try to provide everyone with all of the information prior to booking their event at the Lodge. We are very sorry that that the group felt they were not treated as important guests of the lodge as this was most certainly not our intention.
With all of the weddings that we do host at our location we certainly appreciate the feedback and apologize for this experience. If you would like to further discuss your concerns, please feel free to contact me at bmlmanager@crmr.com.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Staff and Management Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,285 - 1,291 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed here late May 2011 and found the staff extremely helpful and polite. The room allocated to us was pristine and thankfully warm as the weather was not too kind to us The underfloor heating helped as well. Though beware of the log fire - great, but make sure flue is open - otherwise the smoke detector takes some time to stop! huge bathroom with claw footed bath and walk in shower. We ate in the restaurant - fantastic (if quite expensive!) food. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McArthur3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the service, the restaurants on property and your overnight accommodations.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

The decor is perfect for the setting and the fireplace is splendid. We had a great meal and enjoyed the hot tub soon after. This is by far my favorite place to stay in Banff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrose03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the restaurants on property and the hot tub. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a romantic getaway, the rooms are very cozy, getting a nice fire going on a cold night in your room just adds to the ambiance.

We always order food in when staying here and my only complaint is the lack of a table in our favorite room (the lodge room) makes it hard to eat dinner.

Room Tip: The lodge room is the best for a couples getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We value all feedback as it helps us to improve the guest experience at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The big plus is the open wood fire in the room. This was very welcome as the evenings were cold. We had ordered a queen bed room, not realising how small this was compared to all the kings we had elsewhere. We asked about a room with a king bed but the upgrade would have almost doubled our total cost, so we declined. When used to a king bed, the smaller one is uncomfortable.
We were surprised to find the coffee-maker and mugs in the bathroom beside the WC, and concerned at the general level of hygiene. After complaining about the state of the plastic WC seat, it was inspected and we were told it was 'rust'! and would get a 'deep clean' next day. Since when does plastic suffer from rust? We did get a free breakfast in compensation - it was lovely.
The outlook from our room was of a wood and a deer wandered past one evening, and across the road. The dining room and lounge in the main building are attractive, in a heritage style.

Room Tip: Premium rooms have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Although I found first impressions good, after staying in the room fist impressions were lowered, the bathroom was average, the toilet loose at the floor(moved while using it), the floor had water stains from the shower causing paint to peel behind the door, no soap tray to use soap had to be put on counter, the rest of the room was quaint however the fireplace grate was burnt through and the spark screen was no workable and it was very difficult to open the flue, first try had smoke in room, so I left the flue open after that episode. The room could use a microwave. Overall I would say that it was not much more than a room at a Howard Johnson with a fireplace. Staff was very polite and friendly. Dinner menu was good (prices unseen, I guess if you had to ask then you can't afford it philosophy. Breakfast was good we had the buffet @ $20 per it should be). At the going price I would not return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJFaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2011

Buffalo Mountain Lodge management has been in contact with this guest and they have been compensated for their stay. We take concerns such as these very seriously and do our best to remedy these types of situations.
Buffalo Mountain Lodge General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Looks good on web. Rooms are unintentionally rustic, run down. They all smell so much of stale smoke from the fireplaces it is difficult to sleep. You will have a huge cleaning bill after your trip just to get the odor out. Hair dryer didn't work, but when I asked that it be replaced, the maid took it and never brought another. When I called the front desk and asked for a replacement, they brought me what appeared to be the same hair dryer. TV remote didn't work. Menu options limited. I ordered specific equipment for a presentation, communicating multiple times exactly what I needed. When I arrived they didn't have the proper equipment. There just have to be better options in Banff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djess55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. I take comments such as these very seriously and please feel free to contact me directly at 403-762-2400 or at bmlmanager@crmr.com
Regards,
Buffalo Mountain Lodge General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,097 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $109 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing