We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stunning place in Autumn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Meadows

Sunshine Meadows
Book In Advance
$30.17*
and up
Sunshine Village Sightseeing Gondola and Scenic Chairlift Package
Ranked #9 of 73 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stunning place in Autumn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Well worth a visit once the road is accessible again. If you can time it with the larches turning golden, it is absolutely stunning. We parked in the lot of Sunshine Village, then bought our tickets and took the school bus up to the ski field. There is a place there with washrooms and sandwiches/drinks to buy. The walks are varied, but gentle after an initial steep climb. The scenery is beautiful: lakes, wildflowers, larches, and distant mountain peaks. Favourite autumn hike in Banff!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    56
    10
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strathmore, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“It's beautiful but cannot get there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Sorry just can't get there this summer road is washed out due to floods parks say they think it will be ready by ski season. I,m hopeful for next summer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chbaldwin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Closed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We really love this hike, but its worth booking an early bus if you want a nice relaxed day up there. You can book online or by phone.

Currently the website says closed until at least Aug 11, and possibly longer due to flood damage to the access road, which is very sad! :(

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RosenAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Closed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We got off the highway and ran into a gate. It turns out the flood ruined the road. Someone told us it may be close through the end of the summer and beyond.
This was going to be one of the highlights for us. I wish they had posted some notices at the entrance to the park. Or maybe they did and we missed it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Trail is closed until early-mid August 2013”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family took some convincing to hike 13 km but when we got off the Highway 1 Exit there was a big sign saying road to Sunshine is closed (flood damage), Instead we went to Sulphur Mountain which was great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Reshad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Meadows also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sunshine Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing