We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ice Cream”
Review of COWS Banff

COWS Banff
Ranked #2 of 11 Dessert in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

The ice cream was very good, and the chocolate covered cones were a treat in and of themselves. They are located right on Banff Ave. downtown. Service was quick and friendly!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DoAllTheParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    107
    41
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puurs, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A must, especially for Italians”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

If there is one thing that can easily compete with its Italian counterpart gelati, especially those of San Gimigniano and Firenze, it's the Canadian Cow's ice cream. The first time I tried it was several years ago on PEI, and I was happy to find it again here. Creamy, yummy ice cream on delicious waffle cones, in the most outrageous flavours... a must eat whenever you see a Cow's!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“You need the queue to make up your mind!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Loved it - absolutely loved it. Yes there's a queue, yes that's frustrating but I would challenge you to stroll straight to the counter and order right away. It's all part of the charm. For our girls (8+5) this was a real treat and they took a fair while to choose - as did Mum and Dad. The price is reasonable 17CAN for four (youngest just had regular vanilla).
The ice cream itself was out of this world and a decent portion. We will definitely be back (after some exercise!)

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Boo Moo”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Was conned into the long line waiting for this ice cream. Thinking the lines meant quality, we were quite disapointed on tasting the ice cream. Sure, they have lots of choices, so maybe the ones we selected were not the best, but we can only commnet on what we tasted. Decided not to try COWS again when we got to Whistler.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaraH19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdon, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Ice Cream”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The ice cream at Cows is so delicious that you have to go the next day too!! Had the Don Cherry which was incredible (love cherry though). Wait was quite long but overall worth it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dakotatravelingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed COWS Banff also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to COWS Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing