We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splashing about on the river!”
Review of Blue Canoe - CLOSED

Blue Canoe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blue Canoe is a must visit for locals and visitors alike, we offer Canoe, Kayak, Cruiser Bike rentals and guided Voyager Canoe tours everyday of summer. A 5 min walk form Banff Ave, come down to enjoy the sights and sounds of the Bow River. Ice cream and refreshments available - the experience on the water? Just read our reviews.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Splashing about on the river!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

HIred two canoes for the four of us and although it's not cheap it was great to see the scenery from a different vantage point. One canoe spotted a beaver! Good location so even if you don't have a car with you you can walk down to the river in Banff very easily.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thurso
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good fun”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The rental office is very conveniently located on the waterside at the edge of downtown. You had a choice of hiring your own canoe or going out with guides on a large group canoe (which looked great but we opted for our own).

the staff were friendly but there was little assistance with getting the lifejackets sorted, but that was perhaps because we knew what we were doing. Perhaps if we had been struggling they might have stepped in. We were given very brief 'instruction' and set on our way. Certainly a pleasant change from the 'risk assessed' breifings we are used to in the UK and to be honest it probably was appropriate as the water was very shallow.

We only took the 1 hour option, but we could have extended if we wanted (just come back late and pay the extra). Personally, I wish we had done that and taken a look down the second route. We were able to get very close to elk and geese and we were told that the previous week a bear had been spotted.

Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fi0naMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A different perspective of the mountains”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great company, easy process, fantastic experience! Sitting in the bow of a canoe is a unique and wonderful way to experience the breathtaking beauty of Banff and the surrounding mountains. The staff were friendly and we got a locals discount (for the Bow Valley) which was very much appreciated. Would highly recommend, and will return soon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Me and 3 other friends had never been canoeing before and this was a great way to introduce ourselves to it! Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. After paying and handing over a piece of I.D as a form of insurance we were on our way. They only gave us the basic info on how to maneuver which was great because figuring it out ourselves was part of the fun. They give you a full two hours and there are two paths you can take, one is for more experienced people. The easier one has awesome views. They also have bike rentals which we got after our canoe ride. You can rent them by the hour and we were able to take them to Bow Falls and back within that time easily. Our entire group loved the experience and it was very inexpensive! Would go back in a heartbeat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramneek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really enjoyable and Memorable Canoe Ride..”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had such a great time on our hour long canoe trip..

Our guide was a lovely lady called Magda..She made the whole thing much more enjoyable through her enthusiam and information about Banff and the surrounding area.

This alone made a huge difference coupled with the ride itself on nice blue waters. Would sail again and highly recommend..Oh and to top it off we recieved some iced tea at the end of the trip...:)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Canoe also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing