We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Tan - Y - Bryn B&B

Tan - Y - Bryn B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tan - Y - Bryn B&B
Ranked #14 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2013

If your not looking for much but a place to stay and lay your head down then this is it. Great value compared to everything else in Banff. The room was cozy and comfortable but a little crowded with the table and chairs where you eat a nice breakfast. The restrooms/showers being down the hall was never a problem. The location is great with a quick walk to the main street. The owner was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Octoberfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Tan - Y - Bryn B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 35 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

I spent some days in Canada and I love their b&b, but this one was absolutely the worst because of the very snob owner and the condition of house. I didn't sleep all night because of noisy of the old fridge and air system that worked all night. The room was little and datated, but clean. There wasn't a breakfast room so I must had it in room! Allover the b&b was clean and cheap but I found better b&b at the same cost and in similar location.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew85tuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

While other B&B's have been more luxurious, this was was fairly decent for the price. The rooms were clean, the host was nice, and the breakfast was okay (croissant, tea, jam). Whiles the bathrooms are shared, they were clean. The location is very good (few minutes from the main street). Definitely worth staying at if looking for good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joshnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The B&B is located quite close to the main town area - about 5 mins walk. The room is fairly small but sufficient for the budget conscious traveller - smallish queen bed, no TV or microwave, just a fridge. Breakfast is satisfactory and the hostess is very warm. The shared toilets are not such a big issue as there are two of them.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelExotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Tan y bryn is an awesome value option in expensive Banff. We stayed for three nights and our total bill was less than the nightly rate for most hotels. It is well located off the main street, close enough to walk, but far enough away to be nice and quiet. Mrs Cowan, the proprietor has been running the b and b for decades. As a result, the service is good, although the decor in the rooms could really do with an update. The biggest turn off for most would be the shared bathroom, but for the price you can't complain. In addition all rooms were very clean, there was easy car parking and the breakfast was good

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bodger1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed for three nights at the end of July 2011. This was a terrific value. We paid 83.39 CAD a night for room 6 with two full beds. We shared two bathrooms with another room on the same floor. It was only the two of us but the the only other room available had two twin beds. The wood paneling was dated and the bed was honestly not as comfortable as a nice hotel bed, but the savings were definitely worth it. Each morning Mrs. Cowan served us our choice juice along with tea or coffee as well as a croissant and buttered toast with preserves. My wife was a big fan of the toast. It is necessary to make a reservation via email and send a deposit for the first night but these are minor inconveniences.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KaseyGSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I stayed in Banff for 3 days (too short!). The owner of Tan-Y-Bryn, Mrs Cowan, is lovely, talkative and open. I stayed in the double bed with my own bathroom. It was cosy, comfortable and best of all, conveniently located a few blocks from the main st, Banff Avenue. It was quite good value, considering the ridiculous prices of Banff.
The breakfasts are quite yum and Mrs Cowan goes out of her way to make sure it is according to your liking.
I hope to go back to Banff in the future, and I would definitely stay with Tan-Y-Bryn again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milkymoochoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan - Y - Bryn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan - Y - Bryn B&B

Address: 118 Otter St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing