We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!! Worth the savings!”
Review of King Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King Edward Hotel
Ranked #26 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I have stayed here several times. It's such a good place to stay! Great location (right on Banff Ave.) and supplies parking during your stay. It isn't fancy by any means but it has your basic needs! It is clean, has all the necessities and has all the pubs, restaurants and stores right out your doorstep! Definitely one of the cheapest hotels in Banff but definitely a great place to stay if you want to save a fews bucks on cabs and hotels!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for King Edward Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 191 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here and thinking the a hotel in the middle of Down Town Banff couldn't be all that bad but it was a bit disappointing. I am not picky at all. I don't care that there is no lobby and only a small front desk to check I and out of. I don't care that the rooms themselves are really small. I don't plan on spending time in my room doing much more than sleeping anyway. As my wife and I always do we check for bed bugs before we do anything. We didn't find any but did find it interesting the between the mattresses on both beds there were bug traps. We had a room with 2 twin beds. Super small but ok if you are a couple buddies travelling and just need a place to sleep between ski days. 1 bed was firm and the other one you could only say was worn out beyond its normal life cycle should be. You could just look at it and tell it was done as there was a large visible slope to the middle of the bed. The bathroom was good enough, out of date but clean. The fridge, coffee maker and TV all worked so no complaints there. As you can read on others posts this hotel is not very sound proof. You can hear everything happening in the rooms around you. Everything ! Again not anything that I can not handle.
The issue that brought my rating down to a poor was the fact that I had the worst sleep I have ever had in a hotel ever. Since the 1 little bed was worn out so bad I ended up sleeping on the other little bed with my wife. I can tell you it is way to small for 2 people to sleep on together. It was also warm in our room ( 26C ) all night with no help by lowering the temperature of the thermostat. I opened the window to cool down the room but since this hotel is in the best location in Banff it is also the busiest and with people all having a good time out on the streets below till late into the night it was loud. After the room cooled down I was up again to close the window. after a little while the room was hot again so I opened the window again. As you can see with this going on I was up all night just trying to get comfortable. You would think that being in this location that they could really make this place a great hotel but looks like they are just doing the minimum. It cost just over a hundred dollars for the night an I recommend that if you can handle what I have written then this is the place for you but if you want a bit more comfort spend the extra money and go to one of the many other hotels available in Banff. I know I will as I won’t be returning to this hotel again.

Room Tip: There is a nice hotel across the street that is much more comfortable for around the same amount.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Viajar_desde_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location in the heart of town, for a very reasonable price.

We stayed in a king bed room which was very comfortable with a nice clean bathroom, fridge and coffee machine.

Great service from everyone at the front desk and will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Cobrasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Had a double single-bed room over looking Banff Ave. Room isn't big but was simple and worked great! Wifi, hdtv with cable, 2nd floor of the building. The hotel was cheap and parking around the corner was free. I'll stay again!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Phulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed hear at the end of our road trip through Canada. Was pleasantly surprised great room price, large room, clean, tidy and quiet. Most importantly fantastic location walking distance to all shops, restaurants and bars!! Front desk staff very accommodating and helpful. Very close proximity to shuttle bus's to mountain as well which is handy. Would defiantly recommend and stay hear again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex1987_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed totally.
Especially this is a little bit cheaper than other hotels.
I was a little surprised at the reception. It was so small that I thought it was rather a kiosk.
Getting earlier than check-in time, they kept my luggage. But there's no locker.

If you don't care of breakfast service, this is for you. I think that's the reason it's cheaper for its location. I had some choices to have breakfast around here. I recommend you Starbucks. Banff Ave on weekend or holiday night can prevent you sleeping. I stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gugongee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

You can't beat the location, you're right in the middle of everything. They do have heated underground parking for about a 5$ fee, but if you want to use your car, parking in the free lot behind the hotel was fine for us. Rooms were clean and quiet (we went during the week) and we were on the third floor, with a small room and queen sized bed. The bathroom was good, plenty of hot water for showers. The only thing that they could improve on is the mattresses. My boyfriend and I had sore backs after sleeping on their beds, we tried sleeping at the foot of the mattress, but still sore. Good thing the hot springs are not far away! Like I said, budget. =D

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pr0star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#23 of 33 in Banff
1,104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,457 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 33 in Banff
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Edward Hotel

Address: 137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: $69 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — King Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic King Edward Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Banff, right on Banff Ave and Caribou St. It was built in 1904 and is the second oldest hotel in Banff after the Banff Springs Hotel. Over the years it has been well kept and it features 21 modern rooms with all contemporary amenities to relax and enjoy. It offers friendly and helpful staff as well as reasonable rates. The majority of sights, shopping, dining, events and entertainment in Banff are within a 2 block radius of the King Edward Hotel. It's like "Downtown living in middle of the Wilderness." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing