We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average.”
Review of King Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King Edward Hotel
Ranked #23 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We paid 121 CAD as it was high season. Room ok, bathroom ok, beds hard with a cheap feel. TV worked fine as did most other room fitting and fixtures. Afraid I can't get much more passionate then that about the place. Guess the location is the plus point among the averageness of all else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London_Scotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 199 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel. Clean. Beautiful rooms. We were in a family of four. Large and spacious. Great price. Excellent location in the city center on the main street. There is parking in the garage.we mean to be one night and we stayed too nights

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shemerizhak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

very large room, king size bed, view on the street and mountains, rather calm location in the center of Banff.
very close free public parking, large choice of restaurants and stores nearby
good value for money in Banff

but

noisy air conditionning impossible to trim or stop, few pieces of furnitures : no table, just one chair

Room Tip: street side better for the view even if some late activity there may be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
- budget hotel with private one bedroom with WiFi for below $100 per night;
- WiFi was speedy;
- Location is just perfect. Close to shopping district (15 seconds walk), eateies (30 seconds walk) and river (1 minute walk);
- close to free parkade (2 minutes walk)

Cons:
- Noisy bed;
- very noisy corridors. If you intend to catch up on some sleep, use ear plugs;
- Noisy streets at night. Our windows were closed and still we heard ppl talking and having fun on streets in our second floor room.

All in all a decent stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RafiqPunjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very friendly front desk employee. Right in the middle of Banff. Large flat-screen TV. Our room was clean enough, but...
I would tend to believe those who had bed bugs, as I did find one dead bug under the sheets (considering some reviews, I looked carefully before unpacking anything). Can hear people in hallways pretty well, and considering the price level of the hotel compared to other hotels in that area, I don't find it hard to believe that 3am partyers might make noise coming back to their room, though it wasn't the case for me. Access to room floors is restricted to guests by having to insert room key in elevator though, which was a good thing.

Room Tip: Inspect the bed carefully, on and under the sheets, to make sure you have no bed bugs, and keep your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 while on a road trip through western Canada and the USA. I've been to Banff a few times before and always stayed at the Mount Royal across the street for double the price. The King Edward is an very good budget alternative. The location is excellent - right down town and close to everything. The rooms were clean and comfortable, though a bit older and perhaps on the smaller side of average. Not that we minded as it really was just a place to sleep. Overall, the Kind Edward is a great place to stay for young travellers, and those wanting to save some money for everything else that beautiful Banff has to offer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robishen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

this is a great hotel just walk out of the lobby and you are downtown to everything ! great staff also very helpful , nice room, very comfortable,very clean,the room was quite,we would stay at this hotel again for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 33 in Banff
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#21 of 28 in Banff
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocky Mountain B&B
Rocky Mountain B&B
#6 of 28 in Banff
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Mountain Lodge
Blue Mountain Lodge
#17 of 28 in Banff
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Edward Hotel

Address: 137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: $59 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — King Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic King Edward Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Banff, right on Banff Ave and Caribou St. It was built in 1904 and is the second oldest hotel in Banff after the Banff Springs Hotel. Over the years it has been well kept and it features 21 modern rooms with all contemporary amenities to relax and enjoy. It offers friendly and helpful staff as well as reasonable rates. The majority of sights, shopping, dining, events and entertainment in Banff are within a 2 block radius of the King Edward Hotel. It's like "Downtown living in middle of the Wilderness." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing