We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Goid value for money; ideal location in Banff!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
King Edward Hotel
Ranked #33 of 33 Banff B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Goid value for money; ideal location in Banff!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
- budget hotel with private one bedroom with WiFi for below $100 per night;
- WiFi was speedy;
- Location is just perfect. Close to shopping district (15 seconds walk), eateies (30 seconds walk) and river (1 minute walk);
- close to free parkade (2 minutes walk)

Cons:
- Noisy bed;
- very noisy corridors. If you intend to catch up on some sleep, use ear plugs;
- Noisy streets at night. Our windows were closed and still we heard ppl talking and having fun on streets in our second floor room.

All in all a decent stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RafiqPunjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    48
    53
    20
    28
See reviews for
26
67
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very friendly front desk employee. Right in the middle of Banff. Large flat-screen TV. Our room was clean enough, but...
I would tend to believe those who had bed bugs, as I did find one dead bug under the sheets (considering some reviews, I looked carefully before unpacking anything). Can hear people in hallways pretty well, and considering the price level of the hotel compared to other hotels in that area, I don't find it hard to believe that 3am partyers might make noise coming back to their room, though it wasn't the case for me. Access to room floors is restricted to guests by having to insert room key in elevator though, which was a good thing.

Room Tip: Inspect the bed carefully, on and under the sheets, to make sure you have no bed bugs, and keep your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 while on a road trip through western Canada and the USA. I've been to Banff a few times before and always stayed at the Mount Royal across the street for double the price. The King Edward is an very good budget alternative. The location is excellent - right down town and close to everything. The rooms were clean and comfortable, though a bit older and perhaps on the smaller side of average. Not that we minded as it really was just a place to sleep. Overall, the Kind Edward is a great place to stay for young travellers, and those wanting to save some money for everything else that beautiful Banff has to offer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robishen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

this is a great hotel just walk out of the lobby and you are downtown to everything ! great staff also very helpful , nice room, very comfortable,very clean,the room was quite,we would stay at this hotel again for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel and it was really good. The location was great as we were on the main street and close to everything - shopping, dining etc. We didn't have access to a car so walking was our transport. Yes there was some street noise, but it wasn't bad, and we slept well. The room was smaller than some other hotels we stayed in, but we don't spend much time in the hotel room except to sleep, and the decoration was tasteful. We were also very happy to find the windows opened. As this hotel was our first in Canada, it was also our introduction to very well heated rooms. We were able to open the windows and let in some cooler air. The room was spotlessly clean and the staff were super helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue-Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My partner and i stayed at king edward while we looked for work and a room . putting the loudness of the area and late night partying aside, we began to get itchy and had 5 sleepless nights and countless itchy welts, after checking tripadvisor we knew it was bed bugs! we booked elsewhere and got right out of there! refunding any future ngihts we had booked and making sure we let the owner know! this hotel is a disgrace... we later had to burn two mattresses from our staff accommodation and wash our clothes countless times in the industrial washing machines, ruining some of our good snow gear. do not stay here!

Room Tip: one without bed bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celerystick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were stucked in Banff on our way to Jasper due to the weather. We found a small room for $60 for 2 single beds. It would have been OK for one night other than the loud noise from other guests coming back at 3.00 am and this guy knocking at every door at 8.30 am as he couldn't remember which room his friend was in. The hotel location is right downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#17 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#27 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 1,023 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff International Hostel
0.3 mi away
The YWCA Banff Hotel
The YWCA Banff Hotel
#17 of 18 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Edward Hotel

Property: King Edward Hotel
Address: 137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic King Edward Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Banff, right on Banff Ave and Caribou St. It was built in 1904 and is the second oldest hotel in Banff after the Banff Springs Hotel. Over the years it has been well kept and it features 21 modern rooms with all contemporary amenities to relax and enjoy. It offers friendly and helpful staff as well as reasonable rates. The majority of sights, shopping, dining, events and entertainment in Banff are within a 2 block radius of the King Edward Hotel. It's like "Downtown living in middle of the Wilderness." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing