We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very simple accomodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added King Edward Hotel to your Saves list
King Edward Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 33 Banff B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very simple accomodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We booked this hotel through an online provider. The rate was low considering it was Banff. Overall the experience was ok, but the rooms were small and very simple. It was obvious that there had been very little updating done in this hotel. Reminded me more of a rooming house, except you had your own washroom. We are not ones to pay big money to stay in posh accomodations seeing that we usually try and spoend as little time in the hotel as possible so we were OK with the rooms based on the rate.

Overall clean and friendly and right on the main street in banff so close to restaurants, coffee shops and shopping.

Bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Not really a factor, but a room with a woindow to the main street would be nice if you want to spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedandjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    47
    51
    20
    26
See reviews for
26
64
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at the King Edward to attend a business function in town. Was enticed by the central location & attractive rates, but the convenience & savings were not worth going through the hassle & angst of dealing with a bed-bug infestation.

To the credit of the staff/mangement, the cost of my entire 3-night stay was refunded but it sure didn't appear as though they were at all surprised by my news that my room had bed-bugs.

This place needs to be condemned!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

As others have written, yes, it is a bit old and in need of a makeover; however, for one night, my sister and I didn't have much of a problem here. We had a room overlooking Banff Avenue and when we shut the window, no noise. Very nice. No bedbug issues with us. The bathroom was fine too although the towels were a bit on the thin side. Parking in the parking lot behind the hotel for $5 (underground spots). Not sure if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bazilu25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had low expectations of this hotel so we were not surprised to find the accommodations were adequate but somewhat run down. We were in town on the weekend and felt lucky to find a place to lay our heads, period. It was nice to find the hotel had a flat screen TV as many places of this type still have very small TVs. We enjoyed the windows in our room (two single beds, all they had left) that faced the main street The location of this hotel is good and the $5 parking fee was certainly reasonable. A drawback, however, is that you can't be guaranteed a spot to unload/load your luggage.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the main street if possible. We had to sleep with the window cracked to be cool e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAS02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

If you want more I'm sure the The Fairmont Banff Springs has a room for you. For the price it's sufficient ! We stayed in a room with two single beds.
Clean, central location. Limited parking thou! If you want guaranteed parking you'll have to pay $5 extra. But even that is limited. I don't know if you could reserve that but I would if you wanna make sure. Still good. :)))
We had front view rooms. Had some drunks singing at bars closing but how can you avoid that? It's Banff. So don't complain but pull out your valet and the The Fairmont Banff Springs as I said still an option....
:)))

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peti789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the King Edward Hotel, August 4th and 5th. and had a very good stay. Yes the Hotel is old, and the rooms are a little run down but, we found it clean and comfortable. The room had a good fridge, a 40" Flat screen T.V., a coffee maker and although the window's are small, a great view of the mountains.
The location is probably the best in Banff, close to restaurants, shops, clubs and hiking trails.
I would have no problem staying there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Canucks53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie5Doo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This place was just fine for us. The rooms were average, as was the service. No complaints. We found this was the least expensive room available at the time and are more than satisfied with our stay.

The location is perfect. Right in the heart of downtown. This explains why there is a lack of parking. But there's a Parkade right behind it. People are too whiny, they want parking right at the front door... but this is Banff people, there's a lack of space.

Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbie5Doo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#22 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Mountain Lodge
Blue Mountain Lodge
#12 of 33 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocky Mountain B&B
Rocky Mountain B&B
#5 of 33 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Edward Hotel

Property: King Edward Hotel
Address: 137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic King Edward Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Banff, right on Banff Ave and Caribou St. It was built in 1904 and is the second oldest hotel in Banff after the Banff Springs Hotel. Over the years it has been well kept and it features 21 modern rooms with all contemporary amenities to relax and enjoy. It offers friendly and helpful staff as well as reasonable rates. The majority of sights, shopping, dining, events and entertainment in Banff are within a 2 block radius of the King Edward Hotel. It's like "Downtown living in middle of the Wilderness." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing