We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but clean rooms, clean & good location”
Review of King Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Edward Hotel
Ranked #26 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small but clean rooms, clean & good location”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

If you want more I'm sure the The Fairmont Banff Springs has a room for you. For the price it's sufficient ! We stayed in a room with two single beds.
Clean, central location. Limited parking thou! If you want guaranteed parking you'll have to pay $5 extra. But even that is limited. I don't know if you could reserve that but I would if you wanna make sure. Still good. :)))
We had front view rooms. Had some drunks singing at bars closing but how can you avoid that? It's Banff. So don't complain but pull out your valet and the The Fairmont Banff Springs as I said still an option....
:)))

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peti789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    54
    55
    26
    29
See reviews for
27
83
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the King Edward Hotel, August 4th and 5th. and had a very good stay. Yes the Hotel is old, and the rooms are a little run down but, we found it clean and comfortable. The room had a good fridge, a 40" Flat screen T.V., a coffee maker and although the window's are small, a great view of the mountains.
The location is probably the best in Banff, close to restaurants, shops, clubs and hiking trails.
I would have no problem staying there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Canucks53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie5Doo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This place was just fine for us. The rooms were average, as was the service. No complaints. We found this was the least expensive room available at the time and are more than satisfied with our stay.

The location is perfect. Right in the heart of downtown. This explains why there is a lack of parking. But there's a Parkade right behind it. People are too whiny, they want parking right at the front door... but this is Banff people, there's a lack of space.

Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbie5Doo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

You can't beat the location: right smack in the middle of downtown, much better than the location of the provide hotels further up Banff Ave. Walk to shops, restaurants, trails, etc. Rooms are slightly rundown and shabby, but they are also clean and reasonably sized. A good value for a pricey town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilingwithmycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night with 3 adults. Places in Banff are generally a little more pricey than elsewhere, but it is a lovely spot. We called in at many hotels and in the end decided to go with King Edward as it was the cheapest and right in the heart of town.

This is definitely a budget option- don't go with high expectations of the room! Whilst rooms are clean, they are very old and outdated. Sheets seemed a bit thread bare and the bed was quite hard. However, the room was reasonably spacious and we had one king and two single beds.

We discovered that the fridge did not work and we had perishables that needed to go in quite urgently. We notified reception and the lady came up to check the fridge. After around 30 mins she brought in another fridge for us and took away the broken one.

Wouldn't really stay here for more than a night. Very basic and old but still clean and central location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon5487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I had booked a room there on a travel website and then had a family emergency. Since I could not cancel my booking through the travel website, King Edward staff did their best to refund my booking and they succeeded.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGuevarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed in a 2 single bed room with a mate, it was old and there where stains around. Worst bed bugs ever discovered after the 2nd night. We told them about it and it didnt even seem to phase them, got moved into another room & within 10min found more bedbugs crawling up the bedpost in middle of the day. I spent the next few days sleeping in the bathtub with a sleeping bag until we found a place to rent. Those were the best nights in the bathtub. When we left and asked for a discount or free night they said no. So if you love bedbugs and a rundown room go for it, be the perfect stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HaydenandSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#23 of 33 in Banff
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,128 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 33 in Banff
418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff International Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Edward Hotel

Property: King Edward Hotel
Address: 137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic King Edward Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Banff, right on Banff Ave and Caribou St. It was built in 1904 and is the second oldest hotel in Banff after the Banff Springs Hotel. Over the years it has been well kept and it features 21 modern rooms with all contemporary amenities to relax and enjoy. It offers friendly and helpful staff as well as reasonable rates. The majority of sights, shopping, dining, events and entertainment in Banff are within a 2 block radius of the King Edward Hotel. It's like "Downtown living in middle of the Wilderness." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing