We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King Edward Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$443
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$330
$304
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$353
$342
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$526
$363
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $439/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$390
$316
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$414
$401
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$264
$253
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$390
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$268
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
23
59
61
29
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
59
61
29
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetbanff avenueexcellent locationsized roomceiling fanwould stay here againthird floorstreet noisemini fridgenecessitiesficanada
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 202 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the King Edward Hotel, August 4th and 5th. and had a very good stay. Yes the Hotel is old, and the rooms are a little run down but, we found it clean and comfortable. The room had a good fridge, a 40" Flat screen T.V., a coffee maker and although the window's are small, a great view of the mountains.
The location is probably the best in Banff, close to restaurants, shops, clubs and hiking trails.
I would have no problem staying there again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Canucks53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This place was just fine for us. The rooms were average, as was the service. No complaints. We found this was the least expensive room available at the time and are more than satisfied with our stay.

The location is perfect. Right in the heart of downtown. This explains why there is a lack of parking. But there's a Parkade right behind it. People are too whiny, they want parking right at the front door... but this is Banff people, there's a lack of space.

Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robbie5Doo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

You can't beat the location: right smack in the middle of downtown, much better than the location of the provide hotels further up Banff Ave. Walk to shops, restaurants, trails, etc. Rooms are slightly rundown and shabby, but they are also clean and reasonably sized. A good value for a pricey town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smilingwithmycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night with 3 adults. Places in Banff are generally a little more pricey than elsewhere, but it is a lovely spot. We called in at many hotels and in the end decided to go with King Edward as it was the cheapest and right in the heart of town.

This is definitely a budget option- don't go with high expectations of the room! Whilst rooms are clean, they are very old and outdated. Sheets seemed a bit thread bare and the bed was quite hard. However, the room was reasonably spacious and we had one king and two single beds.

We discovered that the fridge did not work and we had perishables that needed to go in quite urgently. We notified reception and the lady came up to check the fridge. After around 30 mins she brought in another fridge for us and took away the broken one.

Wouldn't really stay here for more than a night. Very basic and old but still clean and central location.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon5487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I had booked a room there on a travel website and then had a family emergency. Since I could not cancel my booking through the travel website, King Edward staff did their best to refund my booking and they succeeded.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGuevarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews