We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont do it! Abort!”
Review of King Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King Edward Hotel
Ranked #23 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed in a 2 single bed room with a mate, it was old and there where stains around. Worst bed bugs ever discovered after the 2nd night. We told them about it and it didnt even seem to phase them, got moved into another room & within 10min found more bedbugs crawling up the bedpost in middle of the day. I spent the next few days sleeping in the bathtub with a sleeping bag until we found a place to rent. Those were the best nights in the bathtub. When we left and asked for a discount or free night they said no. So if you love bedbugs and a rundown room go for it, be the perfect stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HaydenandSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 199 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

I view it more as a hostel then as a hotel. Got a deal for $67 after taxes. Don't think people over 25 would enjoy this place overly much. The walls are paper thin but as long as your quiet so are the neighbours. If they are loud, you be loud and after a while they simmer down....A hotel for young people definitely. Rooms are clean but stained carpet. Underground parking behind the hotel for $5. Free wireless...and yeah. Perfect location being right in the middle of town. It's a cheap place to stay in a beautiful tourist trap.

Room Tip: Park out front, check in, bring your bags, get the $5 underground parking then park. Or else you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blaHhhhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Nice hotel on the main street of Banff, near all the gift shops, bars ,restaurants.
Things to improve:
TV remote controls are unavailable
No breakfast.
Was a little bit noisy due to parties in the bars outside
Things that were nice
popcorn machine, microwave available
We traveled not at very high season( at May), so the free parking behind hotel was available for the night

Room Tip: choose room window not to the main street if you want quite, opposite if you want to have a view on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Romhulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

this hotel can be had for a lot cheaper if you wait for a sale or coupon posted on-line.although
the place needs some imorovements, but hey, if its centrally located where coffee shops,lively
bristros,family restaurants,all kind of shops that sell from nik-naks to trendy ones are all within
a few steps away. just request rooms away from the main street if you want peace and quiet.

Room Tip: rooms on the west (alley) side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zon_Nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here twice and we love this hotel. The location is amazing, the availability of heated secured parking, in room coffee maker and friendly staff makes this our place of choice.

Yes, it's a little tired and could use some updates, but you get what you pay for. Having traveled extensively through Europe and Asia, this place could be considered a very nice place to stay, based on some of the places we have been. :)

If you like a value and are not looking for anything other than a hot shower and a place to have a sleep, this the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fancytravelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the King Edward Hotel, in Banff, Alberta. The service was decent. Overall the hotel was pretty dingy. The floor was more comfortable than the bed, there was what looked to be blood on the top blanket, no fitted sheet on the bed so it kept sliding off. My next visit to Banff I'll spend a few more dollars to sleep in a clean comfy bed. Also don't exchange your money their. Take it down the street, it's way cheaper.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Baijoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Took almost an hour to check in. Beds are horrible. Hotels in desperate need of a renovation, old and dusty. May be cheap but not worth any money. Also bedbugs.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sp1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#21 of 28 in Banff
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
0.2 mi away
Rocky Mountain B&B
Rocky Mountain B&B
#6 of 28 in Banff
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Edward Hotel

Address: 137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: $65 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — King Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic King Edward Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Banff, right on Banff Ave and Caribou St. It was built in 1904 and is the second oldest hotel in Banff after the Banff Springs Hotel. Over the years it has been well kept and it features 21 modern rooms with all contemporary amenities to relax and enjoy. It offers friendly and helpful staff as well as reasonable rates. The majority of sights, shopping, dining, events and entertainment in Banff are within a 2 block radius of the King Edward Hotel. It's like "Downtown living in middle of the Wilderness." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing