We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More bed bug tales”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of King Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King Edward Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More bed bug tales”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were planning to stay in 310 for two weeks but on the third night my friend who was sleeping on the fold out bed woke up with bites all over her!we told the manager he said
No we don't have bed bugs you must of for them somewhere else but clearly
Not from then other comments so definally a bed bug warning!! She still has the bites and they are super itchy so far staying on the 2 nd floor we haven't gotten anymore until tonight we stopped a bug on our bed that looks like a bed bug so fingers crossed on our thank god last night here we don't get bitten!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brookchook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    51
    55
    25
    28
See reviews for
26
77
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary AB
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed there on February 10th. We soon found ourselves covered in bed bug bites - which was confirmed by a doctor. Terrible - very painful and ugly bites all over. Although we were initially happy with the room based on a good price ($60), and great location, the bed bug thing is just awful. Once they appeared they seem to take a long time to stop itching, and you can barely sleep with the itching. They are much worse than mosquito bites - they are raised welts. They also might scar. Be careful. This was a room with two twin beds. Otherwise, we would have been happy with the room based on the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CalgaryABtvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at the King Edward on Feb 18th for one night. We went with some friends, with the intention of partying so the location was perfect, and the price was right. The hotel is rundown, but we didn't expect anything fancy given the reviews and the price (also everything else was unavailable). We were in room 311, our friends were in room 309.

My husband woke up the next morning with huge welts all over his body.....some ugly little bedbugs had a good feast, and while I was okay we are certain it was bedbugs. Our friends in room 309 were spared as well.

All in all, we knew the risk, but didn't think it would ACTUALLY happen! Gotta love the irony of life. So, bottom line. bedbugs are definitely a risk if you stay at the King Edward. Even if you don't get bitten, take the proper precautions to ensure you dont take them away from the hotel, infest your house or anyone else's.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whitem82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kungshamn, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

I read some of the reviews on tripadvisor before coming to Banff and I must say I was quite scared of coming to this hotel and didn't have any high hopes, but I was so wrong!!
We stayed in room 308 and had a lovely view over the mountains, no problems with the night club (we stayed from monday to thursday though), great service and located right in town.
I can highly recommend this hotel for future travelers!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 308 which was a lovely double room with everything we needed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojoonthemove_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

The location of this hotel is great - however it is a run down hotel.
People need to come with an open mind about it, we were worried because of the Bed Bug reviews but the 4 of us who stayed found that we were all fine the following day. The only strange comments I must make is that in our room the peep hole in the door was the incorrect way around so we couldn't see out and people could see in (really creepy actually - we shoved tissue in the hole so people wouldn't be able to see in) and then the key chain on the door would not work - the chain was too short.
The room was clean, and the staff were very friendly. Overall not bad for a cheap hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcliz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stayed in room 305. Room was small, but the location was great - right at the town center. Sheets were marginally clean, and the bathroom floor was sticky when we arrived. Facilities in the room included a TV, an alarm clock, (flickering) lamps, and coffee-maker (standard for hotels in this part of the world). No other facilities in the hotel (non-existent lobby, shut down billiards hall, no restaurant).

Upon sitting down on the bed I quickly got a pair of itchy bites on the feet, and after the first night I woke up with a dozen swollen itchy bites over the face/neck/arms/legs, and asked the manager/housekeeping to replace the sheets. Alarmed, they came up to check, found, and popped a well-fed bed-bug. Mentioned that this is one of the rooms that haven't had bed-bugs (!). Kept us in the same room - I didn't think much about it, thought they knew what they were doing.

Woke up the second night with *another* dozen itchy swollen bites. I was pretty pissed off about this and cancelled the reservation for the next nights. This is clearly more than a passing problem in King Edward - I just hope none of the bedbugs hitch-hike on our bags.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no bed-bugs?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

For years of coming to Banff I member thought of staying here. I'm so glad I did. It's very affordable so I can stay even longer.

The rooms are small, tvs are old, and the beds aren't the most luscious but if you're like me, you're not here to stay in your room. It's a place to put your head down.

So if you're looking to spend your time enjoying the natural outdoor beauty of Banff I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#23 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#20 of 28 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Edward Hotel

Property: King Edward Hotel
Address: 137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic King Edward Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Banff, right on Banff Ave and Caribou St. It was built in 1904 and is the second oldest hotel in Banff after the Banff Springs Hotel. Over the years it has been well kept and it features 21 modern rooms with all contemporary amenities to relax and enjoy. It offers friendly and helpful staff as well as reasonable rates. The majority of sights, shopping, dining, events and entertainment in Banff are within a 2 block radius of the King Edward Hotel. It's like "Downtown living in middle of the Wilderness." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing