We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”
Review of King Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Edward Hotel
Ranked #26 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The King Edward Hotel is located right in the centre of town, making it a convenient base for exploring the local sights. Our room was clean and reasonably priced for Banff. Checking in & out was quick and convenient. Overall we had an uneventful stay. Our only complaint was that when we decided to watch a little tv before bed we found the screen to be mostly blue and fuzzy, making it difficult to see. A good budget hotel in Banff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    54
    55
    26
    29
See reviews for
27
83
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Despite the negative reviews I booked one night here because it was the most reasonably priced room available I could find. There were some clumps of dirt at the foot of our bed when we arrived. The elevator floor tiles are broken. The bathroom sink did not drain well. Otherwise it was ok. We paid about $135 for one night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaseyGSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My family was visiting from a different province so i thought a trip to banff was a great idea. Ive stayed in banff many times before and thought id try this hotel for a change. BAD IDEA! This hotel is horrible....the cocking in the bathroom is cracking with mold. Under the sink in the bathroom the wood is rotten the toilet was leaking and constantly a big puddle of water on the floor, the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. Pillows didnt match. When we tried to open the window there was a bad smell from the heater or somewhere. The noise level was even worse ...all night all we could hear was noise from drunk people on the street. The remote from the t.v. lasted about 10 after arriving. There is no complementary breakfast and it not worth the cost. I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. I did hear from a local that the owner of this hotel is also the owner of Mount Royal. After complaining to the owner (who didnt care) for 20min we managed to receive 30% off each room. I hope these reviews will help others in the future not have to deal with what some of us have had to deal with.

Room Tip: Read reviews first
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I was worried based on reviews here but our experience was fine. The room was clean. When we had trouble with the heat (too much), someone came to fix it and brought us fans. While not the most attractive (no lobby) it is very convenient and a good price in an expensive town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrbvvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I have stayed in hotels around the world and can honestly say that this is the worst experience I have ever had. From check in (about an hour) to check out. Check in clerk had no answers would only stare at me like a deer in the headlights, then call the manager to get problems resolved.. Her command of English was poor. The hotel is dirty with stained carpets and dingy halls. Maybe one step above a New york flop house. In addition to carpet stains, the bed was hard and lumpy. There was hair on the pillows. Maid service did change the cases when I complained. Although in the mountains, the view from the window was of a parking lot. Free parking is nonexistant, it is in a public lot and cars must be moved every 3 hours.. There is an electrical outlet with multiple things plugged into it. I was concerned about a fire so unplugged everything. Why did I stay? Wanted to get to the park.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We recently stayed at the King Edward hotel and I was shocked how dirty the hotel was.... Not impressed!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAgTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mtn. House
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We staying in room 207 for 2 nights. There was 3 of us so we booked the family room it was very small. Nothing in the room matched, all the lamps were different, the pictures on the wall were broken. It wasnt possible for all of us to watched tv at the same time so we moved one of the beds. Behind the bed the plugin was only taped to the wall and everything in the room was plugged into one cord. The blankets were ripped and had big stains on them. There was hair on our pillows and in our tub. Some of the pillow didnt even look clean. The room was really warm, we tried to open the windows but they were both broken and the screens were to small for the wondows. We had to fix the toilet before we could use it and then it would never stop flushing. The shower head had no pressure and the hair dryer didnt work!!! The noise was horrible we didnt get much sleep and there was no night staff. There was only one microwave for the whole hotel and it was on the 3rd floor. All that was good about this hotel was the location.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#23 of 33 in Banff
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,125 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 33 in Banff
418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff International Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Edward Hotel

Property: King Edward Hotel
Address: 137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic King Edward Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Banff, right on Banff Ave and Caribou St. It was built in 1904 and is the second oldest hotel in Banff after the Banff Springs Hotel. Over the years it has been well kept and it features 21 modern rooms with all contemporary amenities to relax and enjoy. It offers friendly and helpful staff as well as reasonable rates. The majority of sights, shopping, dining, events and entertainment in Banff are within a 2 block radius of the King Edward Hotel. It's like "Downtown living in middle of the Wilderness." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing