We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful views and delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Bistro

The Juniper Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
The Juniper Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 140 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $31
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The wall-to-wall glass at the Juniper Bistro looks out over one of the most renowned vistas in North America. Join us for locally-inspired food that's the ideal complement to a day of hiking, cycling, skiing, or downtown shopping. Our meals are homemade and decadent, crafted to include our most treasured Canadian classics along with new discoveries inspired by worldwide travels. From our in-house bakery to the spirit of our menu, our chefs are proud to create delicious meals with a handcrafted and sustainable spirit.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Visited the Juniper Bistro & Lounge one summer evening with family visiting from Mexico. The restaurant offers an outdoor patio with beautiful views of the area. Only complaint was that it was a little noisy with the highway being below the restaurant and there could have been better signage to access the restaurant (we ended up walking through the entire hotel looking for the restaurant and right by the disinterested front desk staff). Restaurant staff was attentive and service was prompt. Highly recommend the house salad with the apple and stilton. Will be back soon to check out the lunch menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    135
    38
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good view, nice view, but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our travel book recommended Juniper Bistro for its good food and a great view of the Bow Valley, and the book was absolutely right. We enjoyed our food (we had a salmon wrap and a chicken sandwich) and the view of the Bow Valley was quite spectacular. However, we did not realize that the restaurant sits on the hillside just above the Trans-Canada Highway. Thus, what we envisioned as a peaceful outdoor experience with a great view was not quite what we got.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wisebruinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We went for dinner with another couples as we have been there for lunch before. The views are amazing and some of the best you will get from a restaurant in Banff. The service is excellent and that was one of the reasons we went back. The lunch menu is better than the dinner menu. There is very limited choices for dinner. That was the only downfall and they were out of one of the entrees that we ordered. So with a smaller dinner menu it is dissapointint for a restaurant like this to run out of items. Otherwise it is fabulous for the views and service. I would recommend to go for an appitizer and drink or for lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank suz406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banff
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Impressed with service and the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Being a local in banff I couldn't believe I forgot how good the patio is at the restaurant We had two sandwichs and a couple drinks very good food and great service from Stephen he made up a very good off the menu martini too bad it's not very busy.

Helpful?
2 Thank wolffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great food, Great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This restaurant was suggested by a local. What a pleasant surprise. The food was fantastic. Our server was a local and had great tips and information about the area. When you drive up to the lodge it does not appear to be all that special. But the view from the bistro and the great food are worth it all.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DeepDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Juniper Bistro also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Juniper Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing