We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best BB's in town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banff Beaver Cabins
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Good accomodations, clean rooms, homemade coockies, bread and ice T. We stayed four nights in this lovely cabin.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joeyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 125 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2010

First off...the location is fantastic. 1 block from all the action in downtown, but on a completely quiet street. Hostess was pleasant and generally left us alone. There was a lot to take advantage of here that we actually did not do (like outdoor grills) but wish we would have. In the cabins you feel like you have your own space instead of feeling like an interloper in someone's home (which is the sort of creepy feeling I get at bed and breakfasts). Apparently these cabins are "historic" with a plaque out front and everything. No complaints, recommended unless you want to spend $500 a night to be fussed over and have to get in your car every time you want to go to town (in which case you should stay out at the Fairmont)

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rowdyrutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed in the BBC at the start of our Canadian Rockies adventure and what a good start it was.

Only one block away from the main street in Banff and across the road from the tourist information centre, the location is perfect.

You can park on the street in front of the Cabins, but there is also parking out the back which you can access from the alley.

We stayed in the Gopher Cabin which is underneath another cabin. The size surprised us, in that is was much bigger then we expected. There was a little lobby area in which I guess you could store skis in the winter. Then through to a dining area with a table for two and a kitchen to your right. The kitchen had a small hob, fridge and sink along with all the cutlery and crockery you need. A nice touch was the washing up liquid & tea towels you'll need. Homemade muesli and milk was provided and it was delicious.

Next you walk through the dining area to the bedroom. Which had one single and one double bed with a sink in the corner. Nice duvet's clean sheets all good. This room also had a flat screen TV. The bathroom was essentially en-suite and had a shower & loo - perfectly adequate.

Outside there was a few tables so you could sit outside and plan your day / chill out in the afternoon sunshine.

In addition to the Muesli our hosts baked some lovely buns in the morning so you could head up and meet the other guests in the morning.

Really enjoyed our stay and got some good guidance on local walks etc. Thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJButler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

An absolute gem of a place, my son and me stayed here for two nights as part of a motorcycle tour through BC and Alberta. This was one of our better finds - holiday cabins in someone's backyard, brilliant, quite unique and very reasonably priced

Locationwise, for visiting Banff you can't find better. A few minutes walk will find you in Banff Ave where most of the shops & eating places are. Look down the side streets and you'll find lots more. Banff is a wonderful town, full of life and character and surrounded by mountains. Cheap though it ain't - so take a well stocked wallet. However, because the cabins do allow for self catering this will reduce costs dramatically. We ate out while we were there (two men, on their own, no wives - go figure) and the restaurants & bars are very expensive.

What aren't expensive are the cabins, they're superb value. We had the "Bear" cabin which was spotlessly clean. There are two double beds (they're described as queen but more like a UK kingsize), a small kitchen should you wish to cook for yourself and a nice little shower room / toilet. All quite basic but great fun.

We met up with the owners on a few occassions and they're lovely people - always on hand to help but never "in your face" As already mentioned, we were on (hired) motorcycles so for anyone doing the same be aware that the area in front of the cabins, where you park is deep gravel, it will take two of you to pull each bike out in the morning - but to be honest it just added to the fun and we never found it a particular problem, some may though which is why I mention it

A short ride / drive will take you to Lake Minnewanka about 12 miles away - well worth a visit if you're in Banff. Whilst there hire a motorboat out on the lake ($47 per hour but we were out for nearly 2 hours and they only charged us for one). Cruise over to the far side of the lake and cut the motor - the most peaceful thing you'll ever experience - look out for black bears

I'd go back to Banff Beaver Cabins anytime, in fact I'm already planning another trip to Canada for 2012 and the Banff Cabins feature large in my accommodation itinerary.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed in Bear Cabin for three nights, and our only gripe was the noise from passing freight trains. It wasn't enough to wake my partner up, but I'm a light sleeper and it did bother me. The cabin itself was good though - a double and a single bed, a little well-equipped kitchenette with microwave (no oven) (if you're a light sleeper the noise of the fridge turning on and off might also bother you, but it's no worse than other fridges!), and a perfectly good bathroom with shower. The owner is lovely - really friendly and helpful with advice on walks and activities, and she provides free home-baked cookies and iced tea every afternoon, and home-made granola, fruit and rolls in the mornings. The cabins are arranged round central off-road parking (REALLY useful in this crowded town!), so it's quite nice and friendly. There are BBQ facilities which guests are welcome to use.

The location is also great - really central in Banff, and an easy walk to the tourist info, restaurants, shops, bars, etc. There are also some nice walks you can do from the site, and others which are an easy drive. Banff is small enough that you're out on the highway quickly enough.

We'd recommend Melissa's for brunchy type food. There's a Safeway supermarket about five minutes' walk away, and a good food court in one of the shopping centres.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scootyscoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

This was our first stop on a road trip from Calgary to Sicamous, spending a couple of nights in Banff. We were booked into the smallest cabin....and this is REALLY small....but we loved it. A massive comfy bed and a warm room with basic facilities - TV, kettle, dishes - everything you need, just on a smaller scale. The place is so charming and the hosts were very welcoming - you really can't beat coming home from a long walk to a fresh batch of cookies on your garden table! The hostess (ashamed that we now can't remember her name) was very accommodating ensuring that we had milk and granola in the cabin for breakfast and gave good advice on where to go and what to see - she was a gem. Cabin size-wise (although we didn't see inside the larger cabins) this is not the sort of place you would cook yourselves a meal, but Safeway is close to make yourself a pack-up and why would you need to cook with an amazing array of restaurants and pubs on your doorstep?!! We found - as we found elsewhere in Canada - that its not that much more expensive to dine out than buy everything yourself. Walking distance to the sights in the Banff area. I would go back to this place tomorrow.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We stayed here for couple days and were satisfied. Cabins are not located at the centre of town so it´s very quiet there. We had 1 doublebed room in the basement of the cabin, because it was kind of "last minute arrangement", but we really didin´t heard anything from upstairs room. Our room wasn´t very big but was reasonably comfortable and there was also little kitchen with a microwave and a fridge - that was fine, u can store your breakfast stuff there and don´t need to waste your time having breakfast in restaurants. Our bed was comfortable and bathroom clean. I would definitely recommend it to anybody who doesn ´t need a 5 star hotel...

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
839 reviews
1 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Beaver Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Beaver Cabins

Address: 220 Beaver Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range: $135 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Beaver Cabins a Class B Heritage Site. Six fully furnished cabins and suites with 1 or 2 bedrooms, washrooms, microwave kitchenettes, some with living rooms. One block away from main street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banff Beaver Cabins Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing