We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A gem in Banff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Beaver Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banff Beaver Cabins
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A gem in Banff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place was the highlight of our holiday it was such a great place to stay. Laura was very welcoming and provided the lovliest little touches to make the place homely and welcoming.

We stayed in the Bear cabin and it was immaculate and clean, it really was like being in our own little house. The kitchen was well stocked and allowed us to cook full meals when we could be bothered! It was quiet and private and about a two minute walk to get to the main shopping street so very central.

Laura provided home make biscuits and lemonade in the afternoon and a lovely breakfast of granola,home made bread and jams with fresh fruit. The food is left covered on a table by main reception so you just wander out and get what you want and take it back to your cabin if you prefer.

Would love to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    29
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The cabins are only a block away from the main street, but that makes them quiet at night. Owner Laura is most welcoming and provides homemade granola, coffee, orange juice, milk, cookies, fruit and fresh rolls for breakfast and snacks. There is a little table and chairs outside each cabin, but the wasps were not conducive to al fresco dining on our visit. The little kitchen enabled microwave meals and snacks. You might find a deer in the garden!

Room Tip: We were in Lynx, which is a tiny cabin with a double bed and everything else fitted around it. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in Elk cabin great for the 3 of us .Comfy beds,small kitchen (nice have a kettle),clean,ducted heating.Love the warm rolls,fruit,home made Granola for breakfast. The cookies and yummy iced tea every afternoon.Laura(owner) was lovely, helpful and made you feel like you were home.Fantastic location.60 metres from the front gate and your on Banff Ave. This place is such a gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pa.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed for three days in the Gopher Suite while hiking in the Canadian Rockies. Very spacious area with kitchen, dining area and two beds (full and twin). Lots of storage space at top of stairs and throughout suite. Owner made delightful rolls and bread + had fresh fruit daily. Shower in suite is small -- anyone over 6'6" could not fit. Decor was a bit dated and lighting was harsh in many rooms. But those are very small points in an otherwise excellent stay. One block walk to Banff Ave. and commercial district. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeyondScrapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed in the Elk cabin, which was excellent for a couple, (maybe a liitle small for two couples, changing the queen bed to two singles would be ideal for children).
There was enough facilities for us to make something to eat instead of going out every evening, (fridge, microwave, hotplate, toaster, kettle etc).
The cabin was very clean, plenty of blankets, pillows, towels, bathroom and kitchen sundries and plenty of storage space for clothing.
Having the parking space at the rear made it easy to carry things from the car to the cabin, and provided a reliable parking area especially when Banff was very busy.
Walking about 60 metres out of the front gate and through the facing car park brought you onto Banff Ave. There are two supermarkets one in Bear street and another in Elk street.
A coin operated laundry can be found in Wolf street (4$ for 25min wash and 25 cents for 3mins tumble dry).
After a day's walking try the upper springs for a relaxing soak in the hot baths, costumes and towels can be hired, too busy when schools are out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location can't be beat. Everything within the town center is close enough to walk. Breakfast was wonderful. Miss the fresh buns, and bread. The owner was very helpful, and was a big help with a local issue even allowing us to use her phone. Felt like home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D24684K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The location is great..half a block from the main drag. Lauren was very friendly and helpful and we loved the cookies in the afternoon, the homemade buns in the morning and home-made granola provided. The Beaver cottage was cozy and comfortable and we loved having a kitchenette. It was nice to have parking right outside our door since we always carry too much stuff to haul in and out. Considering how expensive Banff is, this is a good value. Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sswksq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Beaver Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Beaver Cabins

Property: Banff Beaver Cabins
Address: 220 Beaver Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Beaver Cabins a Class B Heritage Site. Six fully furnished cabins and suites with 1 or 2 bedrooms, washrooms, microwave kitchenettes, some with living rooms. One block away from main street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banff Beaver Cabins Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing