We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room with a wonderful view from the balcony” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Country Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Country Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Mountain Country Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #28 of 33 Banff B&B and Inns
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Huge room with a wonderful view from the balcony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely B&B. We had the large room with a wonderful view and I will defiantly recommend paying the extra 20$ to get this room.
As the view is so great we really enjoyed the sunny afternoons on the balcony.

The room was very big, and for us it worked very well with the “make your own breakfast in the room”.
From the B&B you can walk to everywhere in the town including many of the hiking trails.

I will defiantly recommend this nice B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DenmarkLotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Lois and Jim were very pleasnt and helpful people to know. Unfortunately we got the small room (at the back) without an en-suite adjoining bathroom. The room was very small, dark and rather oppressive. The bed and pillows were not the best. The do it yourself continental breakfast was only adequate and had to be prepared with difficulty on a very small work surface, resulting in a messy environment. Frankly the whole facility needs remodelling and updating. The location is excellent - a short walk from the centre of town. The Wifi worked well. We will not be using this place again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Flamingo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at Mountain Country B&B for three nights in July 2013. We were lucky enough to get the big front bedroom with full floor to ceiling windows overlooking the lovely valley of Banff. The view was most appreciated on the large balcony off the bedroom, but was even beautiful while lying in bed! Lois and Jim were very approachable and helpful during our stay and gave us good advice on what to see and not see as some places were still being affected by the big floods a couple weeks ago. As other guests have listed we had a wonderful continental breakfast ready for us each morning in our little fridge. I didn't notice the fridge being unusually noisy as some have mentioned, and, even though I am a light sleeper, never noticed train noise during the night. The main part of town with shops and restaurants seemed to be about a 4 block walk, but if you just walk a few feet up from the B&B to Rabbit st, turn left and go one block, you will hit one end of the main drag that still has a few restaurants your can easily walk to. For a great view while dining, I must recommend the outdoor dining upstairs at The Rose & Crown Pub. It had a 360 degree view of mountains all around and good food to boot! There is also a good sized grocery store just one block from the B&B which makes up fresh sandwiches for you.

All and all a nice quiet, large place to relax between excursions. Thanks so much Lois and Jim!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjbIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for four nights and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the large, main upstairs room, which is exactly how it looks online: spacious, well-decorated, with beautiful vaulted ceilings and a great deck with a wonderful view of the mountains. The daily breakfast (bread, muffins, cereal, yogurt, tea, coffee, OJ, and milk) was more than we could possibly eat and was delightful to share as we took in the view. The location off Banff Ave. was great - it's walking distance to everything but is away from the hubbub of town. It's also an incredible value: much bigger, more personal, more authentic, and with better views than the majority of the local hotels!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisebruinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this bed and breakfast for 3 nights last July 2011. We stayed in the upper bedroom, which had a very nice sliding door to your own private deck. The room was spacious, with a nice large bed. It had a fridge and toaster, with a small table for two. The bathroom had a nice two person jet tub, which we used every night. It was clean, comfortable, and the host were friendly. It was nice because you just had to enter the front door, and our room was directly up the stairs, private. I would recommend this bed and breakfast, and would stay again. It is only a very short walk, a couple blocks, to the main street in banff, with all the shops and restaurants. We had room to park our jeep in their driveway. The only recomomendation I would have, is maybe to have more of a breakfast(as it was just continental).

Room Tip: I recommended the upstairs room, that has the front private deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west chester, pa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

If you want to stay in Banff, this place is in a perfect location to go to the shops, hot springs and use as a base to head out to Jasper for the day. Our hosts were very friendly and also helped suggest various hiking trails that we might be interested in taking. We would definitely stay again if we get back to Banff. The whirlpool tub was a nice treat after spending a day hiking.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WC_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed in the large room for 3 nights in May. We could park our car on the drive and Lois warmly greeted us upon check in. Our room was very spacious, clean and had everything we needed including a fridge, toaster & kettle. The mountain view from the balcony was lovely.

The breakfast was a good idea as you can eat it at your own convenience, Lois had provided us with cereal, milk, juice, toast, yoghurt, muffins and fresh fruit. When the room was cleaned she topped up the breakfast ready for the next day.

Even though this B&B is attached to someone’s home, our large room had its own entrance so we didn’t feel like we were intruding, Lois was really good too she was not invasive and allowed us to get on with our own business, but she was always available to help if needed. Wireless internet was fast and reliable.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
A Good Nite's Rest
A Good Nite's Rest
#13 of 33 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rocky Mountain B&B
Rocky Mountain B&B
#4 of 33 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Mountain Lodge
Blue Mountain Lodge
#12 of 33 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Country Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Country Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mountain Country Bed and Breakfast
Address: 427 Marten Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing