We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average and little personal service unlike other Canadian B&Bs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location of this place is very good and is only a short stroll to the nearby town centre.

The rooms are clean and we had a decent private bathroom as well. The walls are extremely thin however and the noise from the owners above was very loud which made us worry about whether we would get a good nights sleep. Fortunately this wasnt an issue as it was quiet by the time we went to bed.

The commnual area is quite small and so unlike other B&Bs we pretty much stuck to our room whilst we were there.

The breakfast was very disappointing. Bread provided but no butter, a fruit bowl but only one apple left between two!

During our stay we only saw the owner once which was on our second attempt at check in and so ended up just having to leave the money for our stay in the room. It wasn't like the other B&Bs we stayed at and little local information or guidance on check in were not provided.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jubbsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Mountain View Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 44 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

The place was tidy, but it felt more like a hostel than a welcoming B&B.

The sign stuck on the wall in the kitchen telling everyone to clean up after themselves "because other people have to use these facilities as well" made us feel like we were in a student dorm and the walls were thin, so we could hear conversations from other guests, as well as the host family speaking to each other and stomping around upstairs.

The internet dropping in and out was annoying.

The rooms are small and dark but they were clean.

Breakfast choices are limited, eg there is bread but no butter.

During our vacation we also stayed at another B&B in Banff which was terrific value and very welcoming, so we felt this one was average.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anomaly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This b&b is a nice tidy place that felt homey with a very nice hostess. Although the stay was fine with no particular problems we thought it to be no more than average - breakfast was poor (no yogurts cheeses or egs just bread fruits and cereals - although we have to admit that we don't know what's customery in Canada, having traveled to many other countries we expected something more) and although everything else was very cleen our bed was full of hairs that weren't ours. Compared fo other places in banff it wasn't as expensive so its ok that this was a bit basic cause the overall look was nice, but the hairs made it much less comfortable than expected. Reading other reviews it seems we are the only ones so maybe it was a bit tough luck and not always relevant.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank syvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at Mountain View B&B in august for 3 nights. The bedroom was small but clean, comfortable and quiet. The communal living/kitchen area was great as it gave you space to spread out and relax the use of the free internet was very nice as well. Sharing a bathroom was no problem and taking care of your own breakfast was ok , there where lots of things provides in the kitchen. The location is unbeatable. It is located just a few blocks from the center of downtown Banff, so no need to take the car for trips to town. Very good value for the money and nice hosts

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank lindaenpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were recently in Banff for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay at the Mountain View B&B. The location is unbeatable. It is located just a few blocks from the center of downtown Banff, so no need to take the car for trips to town. Very good value for the money. If we had stayed at a regular hotel, the cheapest available option would have cost at least 2-3 times what I paid.

Edwina was very accommodating with lots of useful information about the surrounding areas. The room we stayed in was small and clean, and we shared a bathroom with guests in another room. There is a third room with its own private bathroom; if available, I would opt for that one.

Some advice if you plan on staying here or anywhere in this area: bring bug spray. Mosquitoes are everywhere and they are ferocious.

Room Tip: Get the room with the private bathroom if possible.
Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank eyeguy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed at Mountain View B&B in early September for 2 nights. The bedroom was clean, comfortable and quiet. The communal living/kitchen area was great as it gave you space to spread out and read the interesting books on the area, as well as use the free internet and make free local phone calls. Sharing a bathroom was no problem as we hardly saw anyone else when staying there. The breakfast was simple (help yourself cereal, toast and jam), but we had specifically chosen this, as we had planned to hit the road early to get on the road before the rush to see more animals. Edwina and Kevan were friendly and helpful. The B& B has parking in front, and it is a couple of blocks walking distance to the centre of town. If you like Mex-Tex food and pub atmosphere, we really recommend The Magpie & Stump for a meal. All in all, staying here was a good relaxing spot for us in Banff.

Room Tip: We stayed in a back room and a front room when we were there, both were very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seeknfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and myself stayed there on Sept 22/23/24 2011 and we really loved this place. It was spotless and sharing the bathroom was no problem at all. The communal room was lovely with computer access and continental breakfast which was fine. Kevan greeted us and gave us lots of info and Edwina was very friendly and helpful. The outside deck was lovely to sit and relax with a beer after a long day sightseeing.I would definitely recommend this b/b to anyone for the friendliness of the owners and easy walk to town for restaurants and pubs etc.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerieSlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 347 Grizzly Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: $71 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a great location close to downtown. Two outdoor sitting areas with views. Books on hiking/touring the area available in the common area, wi-fi as well as a computer and parking. Independent style B&B with private entrance and help yourself breakfast that is provided in the common area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing