We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great vegetarian experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nourish Vegetarian Bistro

Nourish Vegetarian Bistro
Ranked #8 of 136 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nourish is dedicated to offering a tapas style service with dishes intended as a unique taste experience. A beautiful variety of organic savory and sweet dishes designed with the concept of sharing in mind. We handpick all of our ingredients and make everything fresh to order. The eclectic Decor and enchanting atmosphere provide a quaint, relaxing experience, bringing intimacy back into the eating experience. A visit here nourishes the mind and soul as much as it feeds the body. We share a passion for food and a commitment to delivering excellence.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great vegetarian experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

first of all, i'd love to thank my beloved boyfriend came with me to try out the great vegetarian food here, coz he's a meat eater. nd the only dish could get a bit of interest is the french onion soup lol. i like the food there, it was fresh nd delicious. i had all kinda nutrients in one plate. very satisfied.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Parfum2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    212
    73
    37
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So glad we decided to eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We found Nourish to live up to its billing. The Burrito and soup were super! Our waiter was personable, and we left wishing we lived closer by so we could come by more often. If you are on a plant based diet, this is the place for you! However, the food is so good that even many carnivores will forgo meat to indulge in the tasty fare. Also, the food was beautifully presented, so pretty that it was almost a shame to eat it, but I am glad we did! Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank morristsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Despite not being a vegetarian, we often try out restaurants that are since they tend to put a bit of a different spin on things. Nourish definitely delivered and I really enjoyed my meal here.
The space is very cool, much different than most of the mountain-themed restos in Banff for sure.
I enjoyed sharing the burrito and the quesadilla of the day very much - both were tasty and impressive. We went for lunch around 1:30 and the restaurant was already out of a couple of dishes from their menu which could be a drawback - not sure if that happens often or was just a fluke thing though. I'd certainly recommend, and will visit again.

No reservations accepted but we were able to walk in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MUhrblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best spot in Banff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is phenomenal. The food is delicious, the staff is friendly, and the prices are very reasonable. After trying a few not so great places with high prices, we were thrilled to find this place and ended up eating here three times in a short visit. The menu was very creative and everything looked great.

I'd highly recommend the king kong noodles for dinner and the veggie panini (comes with a great salad) for lunch, but I'm sure you can't go wrong at this place.

It's particularly a great find for vegans, vegetarians, and those looking for gluten-free options because of how they clearly label things on the menu- but the food should appeal to anyone who enjoys great food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Below average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I ate here while visiting Banff and Canmore in August. I can't tell you how much I was looking forward to eating here after reading all the fabulous reviews. Honestly, our experience was so below average compared to so many others. My only conclusion is that they must have really been having a very "OFF" day. I debated giving this review a 2* but the friendliness of our waitress bumped up my review rating to a 3*. Besides, I really dislike giving 2* ratings just because a restaurant is having an "OFF" day. It does sound like, from reading some of the recent negative reviews, that eating here can really be a "hit" and "miss" experience. The couple that was seated next to us got up and left, right after being seated. I heard her said she thought the gal who seated them was rude. We saw the couple on our other side enjoying their nachos. I did hear the waitress apologize to them for some ingredients being left out and not put on their nachos. Apparently, they had eaten the nachos before and so they knew some ingredients were missing. Interesting!!!

They were out of several of the items that we had wanted to order so we both ordered the organic green salad for lunch. I ordered a half order and my husband ordered the full size for twice the cost. When they delivered the salads we both looked at each other and almost laughed. My husband's salad was the same size as mine but twice the cost. Hummm!!!! We didn't say anything. Then I noticed that my husband's salad was loaded with strawberries, nuts etc. but they were missing from my salad. Yes, I did say something about that to the waitress. She apologized and seemed embarrassed. She said, "they usually just throw things on the salad" and apparently missed the nuts and berries. Hummmmm!!!!!! The salad was fresh, healthy and organic but the salad dressing had absolutely no taste whatsoever. I'm not exaggerating one bit. I was really surprised. Whoever mixed up the salad dressing really messed up in a big way when they prepared the salad dressing for the day. Maybe they should taste it. Just a friendly suggestion!

Well, that was really an interesting experience. We ate at so many good restaurants in Canmore that we will not bother eating here again next time we are in the area!!!! I am happy for all of those that have had a good experience here. If the management, cooks and servers get their act together this could be a really great place without all the low reviews being tossed into the mix.
Cheers!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilyofthefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nourish Vegetarian Bistro also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Nourish Vegetarian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing