We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Poplar Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poplar Inn
Ranked #10 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
West Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

I echo everyone else's reviews of this B&B - it is lovely. We stayed with Susan for a total of three nights on our visit to the Rockies.

We were very pleased with our room (Larch), the en-suite, the kitchen facilities. Bed was very comfortable, breakfast perfect (especially the pancakes!).

Susan makes a great and knowledgeable host. Thanks Susan for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AllyMac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    29
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
85
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

The Poplar Inn is readily accessible from the highway but is, thankfully, away from the center of town. Quiet location, with tastefully decorated rooms (numbering only two). the guest rooms have a separate entrance, so you can come and go as you please. Susan makes terrific breakfasts (different each day) and is very gracious. A two day stay wasn't enough, so we will be back.

  • Liked — breakfasts
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SFPeterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

This is a beautiful guest house. Everything was immaculate and the room was a good size with doors leading onto a patio overlooking beautiful gardens. The location is also very good just a short walk into centre,but nice and quiet set in residential area. Susan was very friendly and served a lovely breakfast. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavenderblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

This is a lovely bed and breakfast. The home is new, spotless, tastefully furnished, with separate private quarters and common room, with frig and micro wave, for guests. Sliding glass doors to individual decks. Beautiful views, garden, screened summer house. Quiet location, 2 minute walk to center city. Susan was a very friendly, down-to-earth hostess who prepared wonderful gourmet breakfasts and offered good touring advice The room with private bath and king bed was a tad crowded, but overall this was a wonderful place. D & J, Charlotte, NC

  • Liked — new clean room, great breakfasts
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank D_and_JCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
0.4 mi away
Blue Mountain Lodge
Blue Mountain Lodge
#12 of 28 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplar Inn

Property: The Poplar Inn
Address: 316 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplar Inn is a samll Bed and Breakfast situated in the heart of Banff. It is a new home built in a Victorian style. Two rooms have king size beds and en-suite bathrooms. A delicious full couse breakfast is served every morning. Coffee and tea are complimentary all day. The beautiful back yard is available to the guests. Short walk to downtown. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing