We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for touring Banff”
Review of The Poplar Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poplar Inn
Ranked #10 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location for touring Banff”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We had a lovely time at the Poplar inn. Breakfasts were great...I mentioned that blueberry pancakes are my favorite...and Susan served them twice! The location is convenient to everything in Banff(walking). Susan makes you feel right at home and during breakfasts gave us a history of the Banff area.

We enjoyed Banff tremendously and the Polar Inn added to the enjoyment of our visit to the region.

Paul and Marg Bartholomae
Schaumburg, Il.
pbartho742@comcast.net

Room Tip: When going to visit various sites within the park, it is worth getting a relatively early start as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bartorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    30
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My wife & I stayed 3 nights in September 2011 at Poplar Inn as part of a Western Canada tour.

Our hostess, Susan, served an excellent breakfast in the residents lounge area each morning. Susan was also a mine of local information mixed with stories from her family & childhood growing up in the area. We found Banff very touristy but Poplar Inn is nicely located off the main drag just down a couple of side streets and you are in Banff Avenue - maybe 5 minutes walk.

We stayed in the Larch Room on the ground floor which was very clean & tidy with a large double bed and a view out to the garden. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denhamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed for two nights in August. The room was nicely furnished, with a big comfortable bed and direct access to outside. The bathroom was OK with a good shower, although a bit cramped (and could do with larger towels!)
There's a nice residents lounge with a fridge, kettle etc, where you also have breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed 3 nights with Susan in September. We had the Maple room - very comfortable, huge bed. Patio doors open onto decked area and garden which would be lovely in the warmer weather. Breakfast was different each morning - great home cooking. Susan is a great story teller and we found her really interesting with lots of local information - ask her about the bears and her apple tree! Thoroughly recommended - ideal location - near to several good eateries - try Melissa's.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cornwallrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Susan is a knowledgeable world traveller and puts together a splendid light breakfast. The bed is huge and comfortable. My wife got her best night's sleep since we've been on the road.

Room Tip: Either room is excellent with access to patio and yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grampafish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We spent 2 nights at Susan's B&B. Absolutely fabulous location. A few minutes walk and we were right in town. The Inn is new and very tastefully decorated. The two room have their own entrance and eating area. Very convenient and didn't disturb Susan when we wanted to make a drink. Breakfast was very nice and Susan was willing to chat and talk to us about her experiences living for many years in Banff. She was a wealth of knowledge and helpful when we were deciding what to do each day. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We spent three nights at Susan's place. The room was really cosy and the bed was big enough to get lost in, and VERY comfortable! The shower was nice and powerful.

The B&B is in the other side of the house to where Susan lives so you have a lot of privacy, but Susan is only a knock on the door away.

The breakfasts are home-made but be warned, you must have a sweet tooth! They certainly kept us going most the day and on the last day Susan let us take a doggy bag with the things we couldn't quite squeeze in.

The breakfast area also works as a communal area where you can help yourself to tea and coffee through out your stay, which was nice after a long day walking.

Its a two minute stroll to the main town and close to numerous restaurants. For pizza, try the 'Tavern', and make sure you try it with honey. Sounds weird, but it really works!

Thank you Susan, we really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryonywalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
0.6 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
0.2 mi away
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplar Inn

Property: The Poplar Inn
Address: 316 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplar Inn is a samll Bed and Breakfast situated in the heart of Banff. It is a new home built in a Victorian style. Two rooms have king size beds and en-suite bathrooms. A delicious full couse breakfast is served every morning. Coffee and tea are complimentary all day. The beautiful back yard is available to the guests. Short walk to downtown. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing