We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, nice and quiet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Odenthal B&B

Odenthal B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Odenthal B&B
Save
You added Odenthal B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 33 Banff B&B and Inns
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, nice and quiet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Odenthal is a traditional style house in a quiet area of Banff. The twin bedroom is very spacious with lovely comfy beds. I think it is a Canadian thing, but you can’t run lots of things off the plugs eg a kettle and a heater off the same plug will short the electrics. There were signs about it in our previous B&B. The WiFi is great. The breakfast is lovely, especially the fruit salad and homemade cakes. Odenthal is a good base to visit Lake Louise, Lake Minnewanka and the Lake Louise gondola. The town is full of shops and tour operators. I would recommend ‘Banff Adventures’, they were very helpful. But avoid ‘Explore Rockies’, the male member of staff we talked to had a really bad attitude and we left feeling unwelcome and disheartened. Freda is a fantastic host and she made my birthday very special- Thank you.

Room Tip: All looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JodyPilkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I would highly recommend Odenthal B&B, if you want clean, comfy , and economical accommodations with great hospitality. The breakfast was fantastic and the location could not have been better, you can walk to everything easily. Freda made our visit wonderful. Thanks

Room Tip: Great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheree h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our first visit to Banff and Odenthal B&B and we were booked for 6 nights. Cleanliness, quiet and a good night sleep are our primary requirements for the accommodations we expect to receive when staying anywhere in the world. We would like to say that we would return to Odenthal B&B in the future with a great pleasure. The location is excellent, the house is lovely and quiet and the breakfast is out of this world-AMAZING. Our hostess Freda treated us as a family and if you are in Banff you must try her breakfast - it is something that you will never forget.
Our room was large and spotless. The shared bathroom is not a problem at all.
It will be to your advantage to have family Odenthal as your host.
Thank you so very much Heinz and Freda for this amazing and memorable stay in Banff!
Excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carina000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This B&B is located within walking distance of the heart of Banff town: ideally for your evening strolls through town, but also a perfect starting point for your day trips.

Our room was spacious and clean.

While the bathroom is shared with the other rooms this doesn't bother at all: the bathroom is clean and because there are only two guest rooms chances are low that the bathroom is occupied.

Breakfast is in one word delicious: cereal, different kinds of bread, different cheeses, ham, jelly, yoghurt, fresh fruit and berries, a hardboiled egg, orange juice and last but not least two delicious different fresh homemade pastries.

While cheaper than most other accomodations in Banff I am sure it can easily compete in cleanliness and spaciousness and you will be hard pressed to find a breakfast better than this. The shared bathroom is a non-issue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

No trip to Banff would be complete without a stay at Odenthal's B&B.

Freda is the most amazing host - kind of like having a substitute mum - who takes care to prepare wonderful and nutritious breakfasts to see you through any hiking or skiing activities you have planned.

The house is original, so please don't expect anything modern, but it is very clean and comfortable, right in the heart of town by the Bow River and literally around the corner from Banff Avenue.

There are three rooms, two with double beds and one with two single beds. Guests have their own small lounge, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, balcony and a large bathroom to share.

We stayed in the middle of a very hot summer (29c every day) and were coll as cucumbers.

I have stayed at Odenthals five times now and wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Banff national Park.

Thanks Freda.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My partner and I visited Canada for the first time this Summer and started our trip with a 4 night stay in Banff. We chose Odenthal B&B from previous reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed! The B&B provided excellent value for money - it is located practically in the centre of town but on a quiet street. The walk to Banff Avenue took about 3 minutes and we could walk down to Bow river in about a minute. As per previous reviews Freda's breakfasts were amazing with freshly baked goods every morning. She gave us some excellent recommendations on what to do in the area all of which we followed up. The room we stayed in was quiet and comfortable, the bathroom is shared but it is large and clean and as we were the only ones staying at the time presented no problems. We would heartily recommend Odenthal to anyone and will definitely stay there again if we return to Banff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the Queen bed - one of the other rooms is twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
267 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Odenthal is a lovely old house a very short walk from both the river and the town centre - it actually features in the walking tour leaflet provided by the tourist information office. The house has rich wood panelling and a peaceful character. Guests are encouraged to remove their shoes to protect the carpets.

There are three rooms upstairs- two light and airy doubles and an elegant twin. All are well furnished and equipped, with exceptionally comfortable beds and high quality bed linen. There is also a room with a TV, tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge, chairs and a writing desk. The bathroom is shared (and in keeping with the age of the house), but large - as the four of us were the only guests, sharing did not present any problems at all.

Breakfast was provided by Freda downstairs at a large table. She is a superb cook - each morning we had a choice of home-baked goodies including mufins, various fruit tarts, cake, bread and biscuits along with ham, eggs, juice, fruit, preserves, tea and coffee.

Banff has a bit of a mosquito problem (particularly beware the walk through the woods to the Gondola) but we were not troubled with them in the house, which has nets on the windows. Just close the front door quickly at night!

There is parking right outside the B&B which is on a quiet street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Family152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
1.6 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odenthal B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odenthal B&B

Property: Odenthal B&B
Address: 510 Buffalo Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing