We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Hind

Silver Hind
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Sway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $44
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Silver Hind is a friendly Restaurant and Village Inn set in the centre of the New Forest Village of Sway. We welcome all the family including dogs and horses! Our Chefs are passionate about sourcing seasonal produce from the New Forest area including local fish, seafood and game. We are proud that everything is made by our Chefs including our complimentary bread which is freshly baked every day. We have daily specials and lunchtime light bites and our Sunday Lunch changes every week but always features locally sourced aged Sirloin of Beef and Rack of Pork with Crispy Crackling. We carry a range of real ales and have a carefully chosen wine list which is sensibly priced with a good selection of wines by the glass. We are open for Lunch and Dinner Monday to Saturday and Lunch on Sundays. Our bar is open every day from 11 am to 11 pm
Bristol
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a celebration meal at the silver hind. The layout inside is lovely and well kept up. Food was delicious and a good selection on the menu and waitress attentive. Will be returning.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank middymagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    105
    33
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor seating and nice choice of food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Lots of nice decking to sit out on, but indoors is comfortable and light too. Good menu with lots of choice. Homemade chips delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shoedocmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mum's 80th”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Around 20 of us came for Sunday lunch and we were very well looked after. The food was excellent and the service was just right. It was a lovely treat for my Mother and the look on her face when the cake was brought from the kitchen was a delight. Most of us had starters and then a nice roast. Some beef and some pork. I had the beef and the meat was delicious and the gravy thick and rich. It was so nice to have a homemade yorkshire pudding and the fresh vegetables were cooked to perfection. We all left feeling full and happy. Will definately return and highly recommend this to all my friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cappo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing - bland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Ate the Sunday roast here last time which was great and this time off the a la carte menu as no set menu.. The starter taster at £6.50 looked great but was a bit sparse. Ok but not memorable. The main courses were mixed - the plentiful chicken Wellington moist but lacking flavour, the moussaka was sent back as it was dry and the lamb shank looked a bit charred but was allegedly good. The puddings were on the other hand good, but expensive. At £27 per head with one bottle of wine, shared starters and puddings for four (so really only 2 courses each) it felt pricey and lacked the wow factor of the last visit. The service was impeccable. Will give it another try as may have been an off day

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VERONICAtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is one of the best places to eat in the New Forest. The food is all nicely prepared using fresh ingredients. Really nice and prompt service too. Child friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraDPxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Hind also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Silver Hind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing