We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
Review of Silver Hind

Silver Hind
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Sway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $43
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Silver Hind is a friendly Restaurant and Village Inn set in the centre of the New Forest Village of Sway. We welcome all the family including dogs and horses! Our Chefs are passionate about sourcing seasonal produce from the New Forest area including local fish, seafood and game. We are proud that everything is made by our Chefs including our complimentary bread which is freshly baked every day. We have daily specials and lunchtime light bites and our Sunday Lunch changes every week but always features locally sourced aged Sirloin of Beef and Rack of Pork with Crispy Crackling. We carry a range of real ales and have a carefully chosen wine list which is sensibly priced with a good selection of wines by the glass. We are open for Lunch and Dinner Monday to Saturday and Lunch on Sundays. Our bar is open every day from 11 am to 11 pm
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant pub servicing well prepared interesting food. Welcoming service from when we walked in to when we left. We will return for a full meal and would recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Drakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    105
    33
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum Yum!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff at the silver hind need commending for their excellent service and great food. We enjoyed our starters - muscles in garlic and white wine sauce / hog pate, followed by Chicken stuffed with crab meat / hog burger - (which was a very filling meal). Had no room for desserts but they looked equally appetizing. Very reasonably priced too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank redjelly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Modern Pub / Restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I tend to drop in once in a while for a beer, and have enjoyed eating there.
The pubs relatively newly built, but you'd perhaps not realise from its characteristic bar layout.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Pub Sunday Lunch Ever”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I eat out a lot but we never get a Sunday roast as good as the one cooked at home. Recently we moved to the New Forest and as we were tired from the move we went to our new local for Sunday lunch. It was so good we have already returned 3 times in the last month. The beef is first class; the lamb or pork do not disappoint. The vegetables cooked perfectly. You need to book to be sure of a table...you will be well pleased you did.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GJholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very variable”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant with a really nice interior. Very friendly staff and a very varied menu. Our starters were really great - my wife had a three cheese soufflé which was light and very tasty - came bubbling hot to the table. My stuffed mushroom was really good. The main courses weren't great though - and our expectations based on the starters were high. My wife had a chicken dish that was served on sliced potatoes - a huge portion that looked uniformly brown and unappetising. My main was a wild boar burger that was so salty it was difficult to finish. Portions were amazingly big - and maybe we just fell unlucky with our mains. Had the main courses been the same quality as the starters we would certainly have rated this as five star.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Hind also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Silver Hind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing