We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast was good -”
Review of Phil's - CLOSED

Phil's
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating
Calgary
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good -”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stopped here for breakfast with a large group of friends on a Sunday morning. It was busy and the restaurant was full and we were lucky to get several tables close together.
We were lucky since our waitress was fast, friendly and was a great server and made sure our coffee was hot and filled often.
I had the Stuffed French toast which I've never had before. It also came with a side bowl of fresh cut up fruit and I enjoyed my breakfast here.
I'd come back again since the price and service was fine with me.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wishbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    14
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Alternative to the Big Hotel”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Staying at the Fairmont Banff Springs hotel, we found their food service prices a bit too high for our tastes, so we took the very short drive down to Phil's for Breakfast.
Although it's the usual pancake house fare, nothing out of the ordinary about it, the food was still excellent, the prices were excellent, and the service was great. I've actually eaten here several times over the years, and have never had a bad experience, so it's very easy to recommend.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Acuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We went for dinner and it was all but empty”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The service left much to be expected. It was like the waitress took one order at a time and then went in the back to fix it. Food was ok and atmosphere was kind of dinerish.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ron-diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scone
Level Contributor
208 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Nurse !!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Boy this place should be full all the time it sits in a prime position with pertly of space inside and out
But after going there just one time I could see why its not full, the food is tasteless and luke warm if I had closed my eyes I would have thought I was in hospital..... understanding what Im saying

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigdisapointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast place”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Prices were reasonable. The price of tea was pretty expensive but other than that it was OK. It is just your average diner but in a tourist resort it is a place to consider!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laughinglinda0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing