We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to break up the journey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crossing Resort
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We chose to stop here as we wanted to do the Icefields Parkway justice and there is very little choice between Lake Louise and Jasper. The Crossing on first impression is very busy and chaotic but our motel type room was in a quiet corner. The room was clean and comfortable and there is a pub, cafe and excellent value restaurant on site, plus shop and the only gas for miles.
If I had stopped here for more than one night it would have been boring but it was a pleasant surprise as we expected more basic service.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Adders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for The Crossing Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 324 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2007

This is an overpriced motel on The Icefields Parkway. We decided to stay here for one night in October 2006 to break up the journey between Jasper and Lake Louise. The Icefields Parkway surely must qualify as one of the most amazing drives in the world, with the most fantastic scenery all the way along. We thought it would be nice therefore to stay here. However, we could not see any of the scenery from our room, with the view from the tiny window being obscured by the tacky souvenir shop and expensive fast food restaurant.

The room was basic and looked tired and in need of a refit. We could hear noise from next door and people passing by. It was reasonably clean. There is internet access available in reception at an extra charge.

For dinner, rather than braving the restaurant, we drove a few miles on towards Lake Louise on the advice of our guide book to Num-Ti-Jah lodge. Oh how we wished we had stayed here! Our meal was fantastic and the location and building were amazing. I couldn't help feeling a bit cheated by The Crossing when I saw this hotel which had a room for a similar price.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chubbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2007

Well, it wasn't dirty or anything like that. But you have to cook your own food at the pub, the pricey restaurant isn't open except during the high season, so that leaves the cafeteria which ran out of food right as we got to the line and we had to wait FOREVER for more.

Stayed: June 2003
2  Thank TexasDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2006

Here is the deal......there is nothing within 1 hour of this place. The rooms are very basic....no frills. Outdated but clean. Pretty much a bed, tub, and a tv. The cafeteria's food isn't that good (except for the chili) and is high priced. The dining room's prices were too much for us. They do have a large gift shop/grocery....and also fuel (expenisve..even compared to Lake Louise).
We were tent camping for 5 days in Banff..stopped here for 2 nights before continuing on to Jasper for more tent camping. We just wanted a bed to sleep in, and a private hot shower for 2 nights....and it is a better deal price-wise compared to the lodging in Banff/Lake Louise area.
If you normally would have no problem staying at your average local motel, then this place would be good for you. But if your not comfortable in those type of places, then I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank ELMny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2006

The Crossing Resort is located on the Icefields parkway surrounded by stunning scenery. The rooms are small and basic, but the beds are comfortable. There is a very large gift shop and the cafe looks basic but the food is fine. The only problem we encountered was the pub which is open until 2:00am and as our room was next door we didn't get much sleep. If you can get a room well away from the pub, this is a good place for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Phil2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2006

Situated in a beautiful location along Hwy 93A (but then, what isn't beautiful in this part of the world?), The Crossing Resort is really a no-frills gouge trap more suited to touring buses and their clientele than travelling families. Our room was clean enough, if not barely lit, but there were none of the amenities which even the most basic of hotels and similar lodges we stayed at featured: no coffee or tea, no hotwater maker, no microwave, no fridge... Like many families who are travelling, we had prepared sandwiches, drinks and other items, but if you don't pack food before arriving and you want something to eat, you'll have to prepare it outside (rules say so) or buy it either in the overpriced cafeteria or the way-overpriced dining room. Need anything else to make yourself comfortable, or perhaps you want a nic nac of some kind? Here, too, be prepared to pay premium for the simplest of items. No, if you really must stop along your way, The Crossing as an alternative to camping or hosteling will do for simple, clean accommodations. Despite how it is depicted on their website, though, don't expect much and understand that what little you get will be a bit on the pricey side.

Stayed: August 2006
5  Thank Lacalifusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

We have stayed at The Crossings a number of times and always look forward to returning. What better scenery could one ask for than the beautiful mountains while you are having a meal in the pub. We think that this is one of the highlights of our visit at the Crossings. The Pub is realxing and we love to BBQ our own steak. We gave also eaten in the dining room and cafeteria and enjoyed all of the food.
We have always stayed in the off season period and the rates were the best that we have ever found. The rooms are clean and although not large, we do not go there to spend time in our room. We enjoy hiking or just walking on the many nearby trails.
As others have suggested, the bathrooms could use a bit more light.
Other services offered such as the spa and giftshop are excellent.
The staff there have always been very friendly and helpful. We would recommend staying at The Crossings and have done so to many people heading that way.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Maritimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff National Park
23.7 mi away
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge
#7 of 10 in Lake Louise
310 reviews
0.0 mi away
HI-Nordegg, Shunda Creek Hostel
0.0 mi away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#25 of 32 in Jasper National Park
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
75.7 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
75.1 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossing Resort

Address: Icefields Pkwy 93, Banff National Park, Alberta TOL 1EO, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Banff National Park
Price Range: $115 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Crossing Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crossing Resort is family owned resort and located midway on the Icefields Parkway within 30 minutes of most major Attractions. Full services on site such as 3 dining venues a Pub, Gas Station, General store and Gift,Guest Center and Fitness Center. Check our website for our great Hike & Attraction packages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crossing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crossing Hotel Lake Louise
Crossing Resort Lake Louise
Crossing Hotel Lake Louise
The Crossing Resort Banff National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing