We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bow Lake

Bow Lake
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$138*
and up
Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Matheson, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Amazing view of the lake, river and the rockies, Must see breathtaking views. Would love to return on day

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mome2boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful stop along the Icefield Parkway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

There is a little lodge here that is literally booked almost a year in advance and I can totally see why. Bow lake was incredibly beautiful, especially with the blue skies and sunshine we had the day we visited. I even took 10 minutes to just lay on the rock beach and soak in the sights and sounds the lake had to offer! Definitely a great little pit stop - and the gift shop is pretty great too!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RN240134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

When we arrived at Bow Lake, there were hardly any people around. There were lots of trails and little bridges to moodle around on, plus we enjoyed the gift shop too. Lots of interesting stuff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil
Level Contributor
337 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had the chance for a photo opportunity whilst on a bus tour. Very pretty lake still frozen, lovely scenery and well worth a stop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rainbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing views of lake still half frozen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stopped for a quick photo opportunity whilst driving up to the Columbia ice field. We're glad we did as the views were amazing. Some of the lake was still frozen even in June which added to the dramatic view. Worth a quick stop on the roadside!

Helpful?
1 Thank ewandalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bow Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Bow Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#