We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Johnston Canyon
from $64.27
More Info
from $64.27
More Info
from $791.02
More Info
Reviews (2,407)
Filter reviews
2,407 results
Traveler rating
1,593
650
133
22
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,593
650
133
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lower falls ink pots ice cleats small cave easy hike beautiful hike ice climbers nice walk avoid the crowds parking lot paved trail arrive early hiking boots trail head rushing water worth the trip short hike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,407 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at Johnston Canyon Resort the 2nd week in September 2019. We had a wonderful stay at Cabin #11 which is a 4 person cabin (bungalow on website). The cabin is beautiful and the last renovation completed so as to maintain the early Canadiana style and is complete with numerous old photos of the founding family. The fully equipped kitchen provided some flexibility if we wanted to cook something, there is a lovely living room and a nice porch overlooking the Parks Canada trail to the waterfalls.

We both enjoyed the food and service at the café and restaurant. Staff were attentive and friendly. The resort has an excellent location about 20 minutes north of Banff and about the same distance to Lake Louise. As Banff can get very busy with tourists the location was perfect for a quieter place with easy access to the activities and trails of the Park. And what other resort in Banff is right beside a beautiful Parks Canada waterfall trail? With Johnston Canyon you are not staying at a resort you are staying at a legacy! A legacy of a family of vision, lots of hard work and a whole lot of early Banff pioneering spirit! Thank-you to the Johnston Canyon team. Lorne and Jen from Ottawa

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Lorne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the hike for you! We hiked Johnston Canyon in mid-September from the trailhead all the way up to the Ink Pots. The trail was well maintained and we considered it a relatively easy hike. The waterfalls are pretty amazing even in the fall but must be really spectacular during the spring run-of. Since we enjoy waterfalls, this hike was ideal. Continuing up to the Ink Pots area was a pleasant hike but nothing special until you arrive in the beautiful high mountain meadow where the Ink Pots are located. The water bubbling up into the little pools is crystal clear forms round spots at the bottom of the pools. A great spot to sit and rest, maybe have a little snack or lunch, before heading back down to the parking lot . Plan on 3 to 4 hours total bottom to top round trip. Since this is a very popular hike, plan to arrive early or you will find the parking lot full and cars parking along the roadside.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank BCW_1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Johnston Canyon has one parking lot and one trailhead that begins to the left of the restrooms. With a short walk, you will pass a restaurant/gift shop and then begin the paved and generally up-hill trail called the Lower Canyon Trail (about a 25 minute hike). You can easily take your time as there is room to pass people. The path will soon lead you along the canyon wall and you will see the soft milky green waters about 10 feet below. There are moderate ups and downs in this hike and the sound of the water encompasses you. Once you've reached the end of the Lower Canyon Trail, you can follow the sign and continue on the Upper Canyon trail (another 25 minutes or so) which is more of the same beautiful views and mostly paved cement. You will see a couple of waterfalls along the way and the walk back is a bit quicker considering it's mostly downhill! Great stop for anyone wanting some fresh air and nice views. FYI the park urges you not to leave the trail as it has harmed bird communities. We still saw plenty of people taking their pictures beyond the caution tape but oh well, I guess we all have different priorities!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank katdefroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We actually had the ENTIRE place to ourselves all the way in to the upper falls. I'll bet you're wondering how?!?!? We got there just before sunrise on a cool, somewhat rainy Tuesday morning in September. It was quite lovely! On the hike out, we lost count at 150+ people and saw 3 more tour buses unloading as we left.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Ganten71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great maintained trail. Appropriate for families with young children. If you are there by 10:00am or earlier parking is available and the trail is not super crowded. After10:00, it is better to wait until 5;00 pm or later. Beautiful, easy hike. Limited number of people can walk through a very small cave at one time to see falls. When we were there, people were polite and the line moved quickly. A definite hike for all.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank travel8285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews