We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must-see! Beautiful hike, good for visiting if the weather isn't great.”
Review of Johnston Canyon

Johnston Canyon
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.84*
and up
Johnston Canyon Icewalk
More Info
$125.04*
and up
Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff
More Info
$40.51*
and up
Hop-On and Hop-Off Banff Bus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic wooded canyon with trails for hiking and biking.
Uniontown, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Must-see! Beautiful hike, good for visiting if the weather isn't great.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

As all the reviews say, this hike certainly is beautiful. The elevated catwalks make it so unique and is a nice departure from your typical "hiking-in-the-woods" trail. We arrived mid-day and yes, the parking lot was pretty full, but hiking on the trail didn't feel too crowded (maybe b/c a storm had just passed). We experienced (and were told by others) that this trail is a good one if the weather isn't the best. It was drizzling while we were hiking and you really don't notice it at all, since you have so many trees above and, when you don't, you're distracted by the gorgeous views. The catwalks aren't too high and we felt extremely safe on them. Make sure you hike to the upper waterfall (not too far beyond the lower waterfall). We didn't go on to the paint pots, but we were told it's worth it if you have the energy. I would definitely recommend this hike as a must-see if you are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    996
    409
    80
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“wonderful walk - go early”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Luckily I read reviews here and heeded the advice to go early. We got there at 0830 and an hour later as we started heading back to the car park there was a constant stream going past us. Early was beautiful and tranquil, and great for getting photos. I don't think my tripod would have been well tolerated by the masses :-)
Easy walk to the first falls. Def make the effort to get up early and see these.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful stop on way to Lake Louise”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

It was early in the morning when we stopped at the Canyon. We were almost the only persons on the trail. It was very peaceful with water rushing on one side of the path. The trail to the Lower and Upper falls was very well kept and is easy walking. It's worthy to allow a little more time for a leisurely visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gripbic45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth the hike”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Really enjoyed this hike to the Lower and Upper falls. Trail is easy ( even saw a couple of people with Walkers) Did see some people with flip flops and dress shoes. Recommend hiking boots or running shoes . Walking along the canyon on the boardwalk was awesome. The lower falls you can go through a 12 ft tunnel about 5 ft high and get right up to the falls and see and hear the power of it. The platform only hold about 6 people .Get there early as the parking lot fills up by 10am . By the time we finished our hike they were parked down the road. Need a Park Pass. $20 for 2 people

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must do! Great for the whole family!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

This hike is spectacular! It is a must see for any and all levels of outdoor enthusiast. What's wonderful about it is that the hike is tailored to be easily accessible. The start of the hike is with paved paths along the streams of the bluest clear water! We saw all ages and abilities making their way to one of the three hikes. Even if you only have time for one of the 3 hikes, my recommendation is to do the lower falls.lower falls. This hike is an easy paced 30 walk in. The sites in to the lower falls are well worth the time. Once there you can decide to go another 30 minutes to the upper falls. And if your feeling adventurous journey on to the ink pots. For the total experience, expect a healthy amount of time as the total round trip is 11.6km. All in all. It is so worth the trip!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JenDenMythra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnston Canyon also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Johnston Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing