We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“With Banff Discovery Tours” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnston Canyon

Johnston Canyon
Book In Advance
$55.01*
and up
Johnston Canyon Icewalk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic wooded canyon with trails for hiking and biking.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“With Banff Discovery Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Took the trip from Banff with Annick from Banff Discovery Tours. Excellent commentary on route along the Bow Valley Parkway. Walk along the Johnson Canyon is very easy, even in winter when ice cleats are provided, and the scenery is spectacular.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lambert99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    347
    66
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Banff Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were lucky enough to visit the Johnston Canyon tours with Discovery Tours hosted by two French Canadian chicks, Annick and Mia (that was how they introduced themselves). They were very funny and relaxed and patient with our younger boy. They were both very knowledgeable about the creation of the canyon and took the time to point out some very interesting facts.

It was a great trip and we would definitely recommend both Mia and Annick as hosts to this great tour!

The Mak family

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth a hike during the cold winter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

After 4 days of skiing, we took a hike at Johnston Canyon end of December. It was quite cold, but well worth the walk through some amazing scenery. Make sure you are bundled and wear non-skid boots/cleats. And also, unless you want to hear details and history of the Canyon, no need to pay extra for a tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank lilaijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing Winter Activity - A Must Do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife completed this hike at Johnston Canyon in Banff. She normally does not get to excited about things as she is a little reserved, however, on her return back she said it was amazing. Good to walk in winter as the paths are carved out for you, great guides (Lidiya and Andrew) who also share interesting facts on how the canyon is formed and the difference between summer and winter formations. We stopped for a nice hot chocolate on the way back and enjoyed the scenery. This walk suits all fitness levels, they provide the foot spikes and snow poles if needed. A well run hike and most enjoyable 3 hours.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CraftyYarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Must see / do if you are in Banff and have the time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Worth the hike/walk. Will be slippery if the area has snow. Less people the higher you go. I would go as far as you can.

Took us about 3 hours total to get to the top and we are not regular hikers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank CalgaryYYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnston Canyon also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Johnston Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing