We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hike up, gondola down” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sulphur Mountain

Sulphur Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.79*
and up
Banff Gondola Ride Admission
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hike or ride to the top of this scenic mountain.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hike up, gondola down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

On vacation in Banff, we decided to hike up to the top, which took us 3+ hours. Since we live in Texas where it's flat and near sea level, we had to take several breaks along the way. Make sure you bring at least 2 bottles of water per person just in case and wear comfortable shoes. What a beautiful way to exercise and a great feeling of accomplishment. Once we reached the top we loved the gorgeous views and relaxed for a bit taking pictures and talking with other travelers. It was lunchtime, so we ate grilled hotdogs at the round restaurant and was delicious. We decided to take the gondola down which took more like 3+ minutes. It costs the total amount ($34.95 each) if you ride up and down or walk down, however if you walk up and ride down it's half price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    144
    20
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing panoramic views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Worth a trip up the gondola to see the whole area and soak up the views of the mountains. No photos would ever do it any justice. You have to really see it yourself.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jiten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Sulphur Mountain is situated just outside Banff and overlooks the fabulous Fairmont Hotel. The ride in the gondola is good, but a little claustraphobic if you're that way inclined. Views from the top are brilliant but the best bit is the hot sulphur springs just a short way from the bottom of the gondola. We had a fabulous outdoor swim at a height of 6,000ft, surrounded by snow covered mountains and with the water temperature naturally heated by the hot springs to a constant 30 degrees, superb experience

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
553 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Amazing Views, Great Gondola”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Have been to the top of a number of mountains in both Europe and North America and this has to rate as one of the best. Yes we were lucky with sunny blue skies and white fluffy clouds and after a fast, efficient and smooth gondola ride arrived at the top. The gondola station opened up to a cleverly designed boardwalk that was a gentle 10 minute climb to a disused weather station at the top. Along the way there were numerous rest/viewpoints that gave the most amazing 360 panorama. Keep your eyes open for wildlife too, we saw a number of mountain sheep, a marmot, and some very friendly chipmunks. Fabulous way to spend a couple of hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MalcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“Sensational if the weather is kind.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Catch the gongola to the top (or a LONG walk!) on a clear day to enjoy 360 degree fantastic views. A very well constructed long board walk makes the long walk to the pinnacle a little easier. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnoleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sulphur Mountain also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sulphur Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing