We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cosmic lookout at top of sulphar mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sulphur Mountain

Sulphur Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.72*
and up
Banff City Sightseeing Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hike or ride to the top of this scenic mountain.
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“cosmic lookout at top of sulphar mountain”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We made the beautiful drive from Calgary to Banff ( about an hour) and took the gondola up sulphur mountains. We walked up the stairs to the cosmic lookout. A fantastic workout and the view. Never seen anything quite like it. Saying the Rocky Mountains are majestic is just not enough. All the attendants were very friendly. Can't wait to bring my family back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rednecksunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    145
    20
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The Gondolas at Sulphure Mountain in the Rockies”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The town of Banff lies in the shadow of Sulphure Mountain and to get a breathtaking view of the beauty that surrounds Banff there's no better way than riding the Gondolas. The first and only bi-cable gondola in Canada was built in 1958. The gondolas offer spectacular 360-degree views of the magnificent peaks all around the town-site. Our 8 minute ride took us up towards the summit and deposited us at the first level of the observation tower. We then did a hike up the one kilometer Vista Trail Boardwalk to Sanson's Peak, a national historic site, the cosmic ray station and an old weather observatory. The Gondolas rise 698 meters (2,290 ft) up the eastern slope of Sulphure Mountain to the 2,281 meter (7,484 ft) summit ridge. The sites are spectacular.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hike”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Medium level hike to the top is well worth the views of never ending snow capped rocky mountains. Cafe at the top for a break. Take the gondola down for a rest and more great views of the town of Banff.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We rode up the gondola with a family of 5 from 4 yrs upward, but I would have liked to try the hike to the top. The ride to the top is a short ride, once atop we had the most beautiful views in every direction. Inside the main building you can go to the very top and see 360 view of the surrounding areas. We took the walk up to the peak and along the way it started to snow (for a short while) nothing more can be said but picturesque.
The eatery was short order food nothing extra special but nothing to complain about either, at very least say you ate at 7000 + meters above sea level. If you can stand it sit by the windows, my spouse and I couldn't sit in the this area, had a disorientated affect felt like we were wanting to walk to the window. So we moved and sat on the next level.
Overall a great experience; highly recommended.
There is a gift shop at the top and base, a Starbucks at the bottom. At our time of visit it seemed very busy (at bottom) the line up wasnt that bad it moved along swiftly.
I would say bring along a warmer jacket/sweater (end of March visit).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank golflnks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We rode the gondola up to the top of Sulphur mountain and the views from it were spectacular. Once we arrived at the top we were able to hike up a walkway to a weather station. We had a very warm day so we were able to do so. The photos I took from up on top of the mountain were breath taking. I would def recomend this experience!

the hot spring pools at the bottom of the mountain were quite good as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BSO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sulphur Mountain also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sulphur Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing