We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sulphur Mountain

Sulphur Mountain
Book In Advance
$95.27*
and up
Banff City Sightseeing Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hike or ride to the top of this scenic mountain.
Killarney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We rode the gondola up to the top of Sulphur mountain and the views from it were spectacular. Once we arrived at the top we were able to hike up a walkway to a weather station. We had a very warm day so we were able to do so. The photos I took from up on top of the mountain were breath taking. I would def recomend this experience!

the hot spring pools at the bottom of the mountain were quite good as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BSO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    137
    20
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burlington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“breath taking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

take the gondola up sulphur mountain, it will take your breath away! so beautiful! bring your cameras! then once down the gondola go to the hot springs, absolutely amazing!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am afraid of heights so I have a hard time getting on the gondola for this ride, but the trip is quick (8 minutes) and once you are at the top, it will take your breath away. There is a large circular building at the top with two restaurants, a gift shop and a roof-top 360 degree look out. From the main floor of the building, you walk out onto a wooden walkway which you can take across in between two mountain tops (approx. 1 km walk). Once at the other side, there is an original weather station still setup how they used it back when the area was first discovered and settled. At this end, you can oversee the town of Banff, the Banff Springs hotel and the entire mountain range (north and south) and valley as far as the eye can see. I absolutely recommend this to anyone visiting the Banff area.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank meesha780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hiked up to the top and rode the gondola down. Well worth the hike, took us under two hours in the summer. Going to hike this again in the next month!

Helpful?
2 Thank melaniedawn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth the Climb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We highly recommend this hike (especially in the winter). My husband and I did the climb and liked it so much that we went back a month later and took the kids. (ages 12, 14 and 24.) The path is well packed down in the winter and takes about 2 and a half hours with a few breaks included. The view at the top is spectacular. In the winter if you hike up, you can take the gondola back down for free!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank kfreejohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sulphur Mountain also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sulphur Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing