We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Climb!”
Review of Sulphur Mountain

Sulphur Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.26*
and up
Banff City Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$52.23*
and up
Banff Gondola Ride Admission
More Info
$74.98*
and up
Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hike or ride to the top of this scenic mountain.
St. Albert, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth the Climb!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We highly recommend this hike (especially in the winter). My husband and I did the climb and liked it so much that we went back a month later and took the kids. (ages 12, 14 and 24.) The path is well packed down in the winter and takes about 2 and a half hours with a few breaks included. The view at the top is spectacular. In the winter if you hike up, you can take the gondola back down for free!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank kfreejohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    158
    22
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“take the gondola”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

take the gondola to the top and then hike the trail to the lookout.. amazing views, sometimes wildlife will greet you while on the trail

Helpful?
3 Thank jmewahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were really glad we purchased a Gondola ticket to get to the top of Sulphur Mountain as the views at the top are great. It is very busy and we had to wait in line for some time (30mins at each end) to get both up and back down on the Gondola but it was worth it. At the top you can walk along the board walk and up to the top of the mountain.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the long hike”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Decided to save money and hike up rather than take the gondola. It ended up taking us a bit more time/effort than expected, but the views made it all worthwhile. Hike makes for a good workout so bring lots of water.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great view, expensive to eat”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

like most secluded places they sulphur mountain resuturant does not forget to charge, be prepared to pay upwards of 10 dollars per person for a hamburger, 3 dollars for a hot chocolate etc, I love the view from the top and would deffinatly recommend going up there but I would not recommend planning lunch for the top :) check out the obversvation deck upstairs breath taking, but you are on the top of a mountain, watch out for ice,

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank tandascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sulphur Mountain also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sulphur Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing