We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spectacular scenery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Book In Advance
$985.14*
and up
Icefields Parkway Sidecar Ride and Champagne Helicopter Flight
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spectacular scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We are just back from Banff, Lake Louise and the Icefields Parkway. Amazing, mind-blowing mountains and glacial lakes. Go slow and stop at all the turn-outs. You won't be disappointed! There are no gas stations except at the mid-point, so make sure you fill up the car before you start. Also, there is a forest fire burning just south of the Columbia Glacier, and the road was only open 7am to 2 pm last week. Check with the Banff park ranger when you buy your park pass. Unfortunately, the view of the mountains is a bit hazy because of all the smoke. Still worth it! Enjoy, and bring your camera! Trip of a lifetime! July 20, 2014

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kid_Doc_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,026
    136
    30
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Sheep. Glaciers. Mountains. You gotta do it! I would compare it to a similar drive I did between the Yukon and Alaska. Breathtaking. Don't be the driver so you can look around more.

Helpful?
2 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
308 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Incredible scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We did this as a 4 day bike ride with Mountain Madness Tours which was definitely the way to go if you have the time and (moderate) fitness. Traffic is heavy in places. Scenery is spectacular and in your face.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 612Brian612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmen, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“the best drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

we have been up there 4 times and it is by far the best drive I've been on .the last time we drove from Banff to jasper and the back again ,I could do this every year

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kirt v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
208 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“chilly by the glacier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I didn't take the tour to the glacier as we were also doing
the skywalk. If you want you can hike up to the glacier. It is quite the journey
and got quite chilly the farther up we got. My husband loves geology
so this was right up his alley.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank marygrace58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing