We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The highlight of our Canadian Rockies trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Book In Advance
More Info
$972.53*
and up
Icefields Parkway Sidecar Ride and Champagne Helicopter Flight
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The highlight of our Canadian Rockies trip!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent an entire day driving along the Icefields Parkway from Canmore to Jasper in August 2013. My recommendation is to start early before the crowds get there. Herbert Lake and Bow Lake were incredible in the early morning hours, with the sun reflecting on the lake so you could see the mountains in the water. It was awesome! Some of the highlights for us also included Peyto Lake and the Parker Ridge Trail. Must do's! We hope to get to do this drive again sometime!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,037
    139
    30
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Jasper - Banff”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

One of the most scenic drives in the world!!! Mountains, rivers, glaciers, wildlife (even saw a grizzly bear!!!!). Take the time to stop along the road and at the many places Parks Canada maintains the scenery is amazing!!!! Columbia Ice Fields, Athabaska Falls etc. if you see people stopped at the side of the road they are usually looking at wildlife.

Helpful?
2 Thank Independant_artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Drive it!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Drove the section from Banff to the Columbia Icefield. Picture postcard scenery at every turn. It's an easy drive with plenty of opportunities to pull over and take photos or just admire the scenery - which is absolutely superb. If you get the chance drive this road, you will not be disappointed - just left in awe of what you have seen.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BILLYVILLAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best scenic Drive”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

You might think the short drive from Lake Louise to Jasper will take just a few hours. It takes all day, Around every curve is other scene that has to be explored and photographed. The mountains seem to touch the sky. The Glaciers, the rivers and the lakes beg to be explored. Take your time. Stop often. Plan on all day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank princes110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Geology”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A beautiful drive with fantastic geology on display. Not much for wildlife viewing, and the mountains are not as impressive as the USA Rocky Mountains or the Cascades, but still, very nice. But the prettiest place we visited was Mt Robeson and the hike to the first lake. That was the prettiest spot I think I have ever seen.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderWoman735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing