We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Book In Advance
$30*
and up
Glacier Skywalk Admission
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Best drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Did the drive from Jasper to Lake Louise. It takes most of the day so plan ahead as others mentioned (not too many places to eat). Amazing how you just keep driving and are constantly surrounded by amazing scenery, eventually stopped taking pictures because there was so much :)

Pick a few key points to stop for a hike or other attraction, the day goes fast so there is only so much you can fit into one drive. We did Athabasca Falls, Sunwapta Falls, Columbia Icefield walk on the glacier, and Peyto Lake. Along with many stops for photos. It was very cloudy most of the day for us, but even with that it was still beautiful.

Can't recommend enough, easily one of the most scenic drives I have ever taken.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pedz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    904
    111
    27
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Du Quoin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Soooo enjoyed this drive. Take your time and take in side roads. There are beautiful sights just off the road in short hikes. Be sure and take it all in! We saw bears, elk, and Rocky Mountain sheep. The waterfall near Jasper is awesome! We took the drive in early June so it was not crowded and the roads were clear.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bsknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Icefields”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I liked forming snowballs and throwing them at people. I didn't like them throwing them back. There's a lot of glare coming from the snow so make sure to take shades.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendaw2348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A fantastic scenic journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Spent a day being driven from Jasper to Banff by coach with several sight-seeing and refreshment stops on the way, including the Athabasca Falls, the Icefields Centre and Athabasca Glacier, Lake Louise and others. Saw a few bears soon after leaving Jasper but no others later - it is just ones luck on the day. One feels in the heart of the Rockies on the drive. Snow capped mountains all round with occasional glimpses of a glacier or two - with the Athabasca being easily the most eye-catching of them. This trip should not be hurried - any opportunity should be taken for photos or filming - but one does need a clear day to appreciate the scenery to the full. We were fortunate - gloriously sunny all the way! We had a coach driver who went out of his way to make sure we were given lots of descriptive and helpful information as we drove and stopped at all the right places for our benefit. A good day was had by all!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank historian90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Animals Abound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Allow plenty of time for this run and drive slowly as you never know what may be waiting to have their photo opportunity, we say Black Bears a Grizzly Bear dining on the dandelion heads five yards from the road, Elk, Deer and Bald Eagles what a great journey, once in a lifetime viewing, keep your eyes peeled, there is something around every turn that will surprise you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing